West Indies to stage Women's 2018 World Twenty20

Updated: June 30, 2013, 4:15 PM IST
West Indies to stage Women's 2018 World Twenty20

London: The West Indies will host the International Cricket Council (ICC) Women's World Twenty20 in 2018 and the Under-19 Cricket World Cup in 2022.

These were among the various decisions taken at the conclusion of the ICC Annual Conference here Saturday, reports CMC.

The IDI Board (ICC Development International) also confirmed that England will stage the inaugural ICC World Test Championship in 2017, while the second edition will be held in India in 2021.

In addition to this, between 2015 and 2023, the ICC will stage 18 events, including two ICC Cricket World Cup Tournaments, two ICC World Test Championships, two ICC World Twenty20 events, three ICC Women's World Cups, three ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cups, two ICC Women's World Twenty20 and four qualifying tournaments.

"We are delighted to confirm the exciting schedule of events through to 2023," said ICC chief executive David Richardson.

"The ICC Champions Trophy in England and Wales was highly acclaimed and appreciated by all. However, the principle of one pinnacle global event for each of the three formats over a four-year cycle is a good one and, as such, the ICC Board has agreed to replace the Champions Trophy with the ICC World Test Championship.

"Now that the ICC World Test Championship has been confirmed, we'll work on the playing conditions and qualification criteria, and will submit these to the ICC Board for approval in due course."

First Published: June 30, 2013, 4:15 PM IST

Team Rankings

1 India 3925 123
2 South Africa 3050 117
3 Australia 3087 100
4 England 3362 99
5 New Zealand 3114 97
FULL Ranking