Quick Links



    World T20: A look back at past champions

    As the 2012 ICC World Twenty20 looms, a look back at how the past three editions were won. ICC World Twenty20 2007-08 in South AfricaWinner: IndiaRunners up: PakistanVenues: Cape Town, Durban, JohannesburgMost runs: 265 - Mathew HaydenMost Wickets: 13 - Umar GulPlayer of the Final: Irfan PathanPlayer of the Series: Shahid AfridiThe inaugural ICC World Twenty20 was staged in South Africa from September 11-24, 2007. The 12 participating teams were divided into four groups of three each. India was in Group D along with Pakistan and Scotland and under the inspirational captaincy of MS Dhoni, trounced Pakistan in a thrilling and unforgettable final at The Wanderers. As per the tournament rules, the top two teams from each group went through to the second stage of the tournament, the Super Eights. India stormed into the next round after beating Pakistan in a dramatic bowl-out 3-0 and Scotland. In the Super Eights, they beat England and South Africa and in the semi-finals held their nerves to defeat Australia by 15 runs and set up a mouth-watering final against Pakistan. In Johannesburg, Dhoni won the toss and opted to bat. India’s was a stop-start innings, with Gautam Gambhir leading the way with a 54-ball 75 and Rohit Sharam injecting crucial runs with an unbeaten 30 off 16. As he had been during the tournament, Umar Gul was on the ball and collected the prized wickets of Yuvraj Singh and Dhoni as India finished on 157 for 5. In the second innings, Pakistan faltered until Misbah-ul-Haq struck three sixes off Harbhajan Singh in the 17th over. Pakistan needed 13 from the final over, and after much deliberation Dhoni decided to give the ball to Joginder Sharma who had bowled an ice-cool two-wicket final over against Australia in the previous game. A wrong call by the captain would have cost India the trophy. Joginder started with a wide delivery, then a dot. He bowled a full toss next, and Misbah hit him for a six. Six runs off 4 balls was a simple situation for Pakistan, but Joginder’s magic worked for Dhoni. On the very next ball, Misbah went for a scoop which landed safely in Sreesanth's hands at short fine leg to crown India Twenty20 champions. Irfan Pathan, who scalped three wickets, was adjudged Man of the Match. Joginder never played another match for India. ICC World Twenty20 2009 in EnglandWinner: PakistanRunners up: Sri LankaVenues: Lord’s, The Oval, Trent BridgeMost runs: 265 - Mathew HaydenMost Wickets: 13 - Umar GulPlayer of the Final: Shahid AfridiPlayer of the Series: Tillakaratne DilshanMost Runs: 317 - Tillakratane Dilshan Most Wickets: 13 - Umar GulJust months after the attack on the visiting Sri Lankan team in Lahore that resulted in Pakistan losing the right to host international cricket, a Younis Khan-led outfit beat Sri Lanka to win the title at Lord’s. It was Pakistan’s first major trophy in 17 years. Pakistan peaked at the right moment, overcoming a poor start, which included a defeat to England in its opening game and a thrashing to Sri Lanka in the Super Eights. Riding on a superb 54 off 52 balls from Shahid Afridi, Pakistan pummeled Sri Lanka, who had been unbeaten in the tournament, at Lord’s on June 21. Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bat, with skipper Kumar Sangakkara holding the innings together after the side lost four wickets inside the Poweplay. Playing cautiously, Sangakkara scored 64 off 52 balls and struck seven boundaries in his innings to take the score to 138 for 6. In reply, Pakistan’s openers Kamran Akmal and Shahzaib Hasan provided a 48-run start. Afridi then displayed commendable composure in guiding Pakistan to an eight-wicket win with eight balls remaining. His match analysis of 1 for 20 and 54 off 40 balls clinched him the Man-of-the-Match award. Tillakaratne Dilshan was declared Man of the Series for his 317 runs at an average of 63.40.ICC World Twenty20 2010 in the West IndiesWinner: EnglandRunners up: AustraliaVenues: St Lucia, Barbados, GuyanaPlayer of the Final: Craig KieswetterPlayer of the Series: Kevin PietersenMost Runs: 317 – 302 – Mahela JayawardeneMost Wickets: 13 – Dirk NannesUnder Paul Collingwood, England clinched the 2010 World Twenty20 in spectacular fashion by trouncing Australia to win their first major trophy in international cricket. England didn’t had a good start in the tournament as they lost their opening game to West Indies by eight wickets before the second clash against Ireland was abandoned due to heavy downpour. A tense six-wicket win over defending champions Pakistan gave Collingwood’s team the much-needed momentum, and from there they pressed on to beat South Africa by 39 runs and New Zealand by three wickets. A seven-wicket win over Sri Lanka in the semi-finals set up a clash with Australia at Bridgetown on May 16. Batting first, Australia – who had not lost a single match in the tournament – were kept to 147 for 6 with David Hussey top-scoring with 59 off 54 balls after the team collapsed to 8 for 3. In defense of that middling total, Australia struck an early blow but a match-winning stand between Kevin Pietersen (47) and Craig Keiswetter (63) swung the match away.