Quick Links



    World T20 Final: Lots at stake for Team India and Sri Lanka

    India vs Sri Lanka match-ups haven't generated much interest of late, but the one on Sunday is different - it's for the 2014 ICC World Twenty20 trophy.

    From farewells to history to breaking jinx, the 40-over slugfest will have lots at stake when the two subcontinent giants meet. Here's what to look forward to:

    Farewell Mahela, Sangakkara!

    It will be the last time two Sri Lankan talismans Mahela Jayawardene and Kumar Sangakkara will make a T20I appearance. They announced their retirement from the format pre-tournament. For the record, the Lankans failed to give a fitting farewell to Muttiah Muralitharan, when they lost the 2011 World Cup final. But the team would not want that ignominy to haunt them once again.

    Third time lucky?

    For the third time - after 2009 and 2012 - Sri Lanka will be playing a World Twenty20 final on Sunday. So 'third-time lucky' is a cliche that perfectly fits here. And the Lankans will hope that they break the jinx. Plus, Jayawardene and Sangakkara have lost four World finals together. So the team will want to do it for them this time.

    History beckons Dhoni

    MS Dhoni will also be on the cusp of creating history. A third World title awaits him as skipper, something no captain has achieved so far. Clive Lloyd and Ricky Pointing led West Indies and Australia, respectively, to two ODI titles. On Sunday, Dhoni can become the only captain to do it thrice, having won the 2007 World T20 and the 2011 World Cup.

    History in store for India too

    If India go on to win, it will be their sixth consecutive T20I victory, equalling the record for the longest winning streak. And it will be the third limited-overs ICC trophy in India's lap at the same time - 2013 Champions Trophy and 2011 World Cup being the other two, making them the first team to do so.

    Nothing between them

    The two sides have met often in tournament finals, count 19. But there's nothing to choose between them. India have won 9 and Sri Lanka 8; two finals ended as no-result.

    Who will you put your money on?