World T20: Netherlands aim to play party poopers for New Zealand

Cricketnext Staff | Updated: March 29, 2014, 9:06 AM IST
World T20: Netherlands aim to play party poopers for New Zealand

Netherlands almost had their moment against South Africa in their previous encounter and with that defeat their race for semis is already over but the Dutch side can play potential party poopers to New Zealand when the two teams face each other in Group 1 encounter at Chittagong on Saturday.

New Zealand at the moment are sitting at third place on the points table with two points and win against Netherlands will take their tally to four points and level them with Sri Lanka whom Kiwis will be facing in the last group encounter.

New Zealand will be hoping for a convincing win on Saturday as they do have a strong side. The likes of Martin Guptill, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor and Brendon McCullum provide them with solidarity and firepower. However, batting let them down against South Africa and now they find themselves in a tricky situation.

Kiwi bowlers, on occasions, struggled to bowl with good control. Tim Southee in particular, struggled with his rhythm but seamer Kyle Mills and bowling allrounder Nathan McCullum though, bowled fine spells and New Zealand will be hoping that they continue with that form in the remaining two matches.

On the other hand, Netherlands are in search of a win. Ahsan Malik picked the first and only five-wicket haul of this World T20 as they restricted South Africa to a partly total last time and the Dutch side will be hoping to repeat their bowling heroics against the Kiwis. However, their batting needs a direction and reckless shots time and again will not help their cause.


Netherlands: Peter Borren (c), Stephan Myburgh, Wesley Barresi (wk), Logan van Beek, Tom Cooper, Ben Cooper, Michael Swart, Eric Szwarczynski, Vivian Kingma, Pieter Seelaar, Tom Heggelman, Mudassar Bukhari, Ahsan Malik, Timm van der Gugten , Michael Rippon.

New Zealand: Brendon McCullum (c), Kane Williamson, Martin Guptill, Ross Taylor, Corey Anderson, Anton Devcich, Colin Munro, Ronnie Hira, Nathan McCullum, Luke Ronchi (wk), Trent Boult, Mitchell McClenaghan, Tim Southee, Kyle Mills, Jimmy Neesham.

First Published: March 29, 2014, 9:06 AM IST

Team Rankings

1 India 3925 123
2 South Africa 3050 117
3 Australia 3087 100
4 England 3362 99
5 New Zealand 3114 97
FULL Ranking