Young Jammu and Kashmir batsman Khajuria in India U-19 squad

Updated: July 10, 2013, 8:48 PM IST
Young Jammu and Kashmir batsman Khajuria in India U-19 squad

New Delhi: Close on the heels of Parveez Rasool's selection in the Indian team for the Zimbabwe tour, another Jammu and Kashmir cricketer Shubham Khajuria was on Wednesday selected in the India U-19 squad for the tour of Sri Lanka.

Seventeen-year-old Khajuria, who hails from Jammu, has already played three Ranji Trophy match for his state apart from six List 'A' and five T20 matches and is a part of the squad led by Maharashtra's Vijay Zol. Before Khajuria, the last player from Jammu and Kashmir to play for India colts was lanky pacer Abid Nabi.

The India team is supposed to play two four-day games apart and three one day internationals during the 17-day tour of the island nation.

Meanwhile the junior selection committee also picked up an India U-23 squad to be led by talented Mumbai youngster Surya Kumar Yadav for the ACC Emerging Teams Cup to be played in Singapore from August 17 to 25. The squad consists of India's U-19 World Cup winning captain Unmukt Chand.

Various Squads

India U-23 for ACC Trophy Surya Kumar Yadav (Captain), Lokesh Rahul (vice-captain), Kaustubh Pawar, Ankit Bawane, Unmukt Chand, Ashok Menaria, Manpreet Juneja, Smit Patel (wk), Prashant Chopra, Jasprit Bumrah, Sandeep Warrier, Harshal Patel, Akshar Patel, Sandeep Sharma, Baba Aparajith.

Matches: Aug 18: India vs Pakistan; Aug 20: India vs Nepal; Aug 22: India vs Afghanistan; August 23 (SF1 at Kallang Ground; SF2 at Singapore Cricket Club ground); Aug 25: Final.

India U-19 squad (for 4-day matches): Vijay Zol (Captain), Sanju Samson (Vice-Capt, WK), Akhil Herwadkar, Shreyas Iyer, Mohammed Saif, Karan Viradia, Shubham Khajuria, D. Nischal, Ankush Bains, Atul Singh, Pankaj Jaiswal, Ateet Seth, CV Milind, Aamir Gani, Kuldeep Yadav.

Squad for ODIs Vijay Zol (Captain), Sanju Samson (vice-capt, wk), Akhil Herwadkar, Sarfaraz Khan, Ricky Bhui, Deepak Hooda, Abhimanyu Lamba, Rishi Arothe, Mohammed Saif, Shubham Khajuria, Ankush Bains, Atul Singh, Ateet Seth, Aamir Gani, Kuldeep Yadav.

Itinerary for SL tour:

July 23-26: 1st Four Day match (Dambulla)

July 29-Aug 1: 2nd four Day Match (Karunegala)

Aug 4: 1st 'ODI' (Dambulla)

Aug 6: 2nd 'ODI' (Karunegala)

Aug 8: 3rd 'ODI' (Dambulla)

First Published: July 10, 2013, 8:48 PM IST

Team Rankings

1 India 3925 123
2 South Africa 3050 117
3 Australia 3087 100
4 England 3362 99
5 New Zealand 3114 97
FULL Ranking