Quick Links



    Dhoni to lead Pune, Raina Gujarat - meet the IPL-9 captains

    • MS Dhoni (Rising Pune Supergiants): India's limited overs skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni will lead the new IPL team Rising Pune Supergiants, owned by Sanjiv Goenka, in the ninth season of Indian Premier League. Dhoni will lead a star-studded side that will have Aussie skipper Steve Smith, South African skipper Faf du Plessis beside the Indian experienced duo of Ajinkya Rahane and R Ashwin. (Image: AFP)

    • Gautam Gambhir (Kolkata Knight Riders): Having played for Delhi Daredevils in the first three seasons of the IPL, Gautam Gambhir was bought by Kolkata Knight Riders at the 2011 IPL Player Auction. He captained KKR to their first top-four finish in IPL 2011 and then led them to IPL title victory in 2012. Under Gambhir's captaincy, KKR qualified for the IPL playoffs and also made it to the Champions League Twenty20 for the first time. (Getty Images)

    • David Miller (Kings XI Punjab): Kings XI Punjab named South Africa star batsman David Miller captain for the IPL 2016. Last year the team was led by Australia's George Bailey, but the franchise had not retained Bailey this season. (Image: BCCI)

    • Royal Challengers Bangalore (Virat Kohli): Virat Kohli led Royal Challengers Bangalore in a few games in IPL 2012 beafore he became a full-time captain of the IPL team in 2013 season. Retained by the franchise ahead of the 2014 Player Auction, Virat continues to lead them. (Image: Getty Images)

    • Shikhar Dhawan (Sunrisers Hyderabad): Shikhar Dhawan played for the Delhi Daredevils in IPL 2008 and then turned out for the Mumbai Indians for two seasons before moving to the Deccan Chargers. Dhawan had a great 2012 season, tallying 569 runs from 15 matches. Dhawan, who was selected captain of the Sunrisers Hyderabad prior to the start of the 2013 Champions League Twenty20 tournament, will once again take the charge of Hyderabad outfit. (Image: BCCI)

    • Zaheer Khan (Delhi Daredevils): Former India pace spearhead Zaheer Khan will lead Delhi Daredevils in the ninth edition of IPL. India's best left-arm pace bowler ever, Zaheer, will be playing for Delhi Daredevils for the second successive season this year. (Image: Delhi Daredevils)

    • Rohit Sharma (Mumbai Indians): After guiding Mumbai Indians to their maiden title victory last year, India opener Rohit Sharma will once again lead the Mumbai outfit. (Image: Gety Images)

    • Suresh Raina (Gujarat Lions): Gujarat Lions, one of the two new teams introduced for the next two editions announced the middle-order batsman Suresh Raina as their captain. The team, along with Rising Pune Supergiants, have replaced the suspended Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Rajasthan Royals (RR) for the 2016 and 2017 seasons. Raina, who played for the Chennai Super Kings since the beginning of the cash-rich league in 2008 and is the highest scorer T20 cricket, was excited about his new innings as a skipper of a new team. (Image: AFP)