Quick Links



    ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 official launch

    • The ICC, on Tuesday staged the official launch of the 2015 Cricket World Cup in Wellington and Melbourne.

    • India will launch their title defence against traditional rivals Pakistan in Adelaide, while New Zealand face Sri Lanka in Christchurch and Australia meet England in Melbourne on the opening day of ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 to be jointly hosted by Australia and New Zealand from February 14 to March 29.

    • India have been grouped with South Africa, Pakistan, West Indies, Zimbabwe, Ireland and Qualifier 4 whereas co-hosts Australia and New Zealand have been pooled alongside England, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Qualifier 2 and Qualifier 3.

    • Forty nine matches will be played in 14 venues across the two host nations, with Australia staging 26 games at grounds in Adelaide, Brisbane, Canberra, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney. The Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) would stage the final on March 29.

    • Sir Richard Hadlee was seen addressing the audience during the launch in Wellington. (Getty Images)

    • The event witnessed the presence of many cricketing greats. (From left to right) Kapil Dev, Sanath Jayasuriya, Ian Chappel and Dennis Lillee were seen speaking on stage in Melbourne.

    • The 2015 World Cup would be the 11th edition of the grand event. Australia have won the World Cup four times (1987, 1999, 2003, 2007) followed by two wins each by India (1983, 2011) and the West Indies (1975, 1979). (Getty Images)