Quick Links



    In pics: Meet the 16 captains at 2014 World Twenty20

    • Mahendra Singh Dhoni is all set to return as India captain for the ICC World Twenty20. Dhoni, who led India to win the inaugural event in 2007, was ruled out of the Asia Cup after sustaining a side-strain injury on the tour of New Zealand.

    • Mohammad Hafeez will once again lead Pakistan's charge after the 2012 edition, where his team lost to Sri Lanka in the semis. Pakistan won the title in 2009 under Younis Khan.

    • Afghanistan have impressed with their performance in the Asia Cup, where they beat Bangladesh for their first win over a Test nation. Mohammad Nabi will lead the success-hungry Afghans.

    • England won the title in 2010 under the captaincy of Paul Collingwood. Stuart Broad will try to emulate that in 2014.

    • Faf du Plessis will be leading South Africa for the first time at World Twenty20. Though South Africa haven't been so impressive in the past editions of the tournament, they have the unit to excel in this edition.

    • George Bailey-led Australia reached the semi-final in 2012 but slumped to a 74-run defeat to West Indies. In 2010, Australia choked in the final and gifted England the title, who won it by 7 wickets. Bailey will lead Australia at World Twenty20 for the second time.

    • Brendon Taylor will be leading a struggling Zimbabwe team hoping to get some positive results under their belt.

    • After defeating India in the ODI and Test series, New Zealand captain has sufficient weapons in his arsenal to present a solid challenged to the title favourites.

    • Peter Borren will lead the Netherlands team.

    • Khurram Khan will be at the helm for United Arab Emirates (UAE).

    • Nepal cricket team will be led by Paras Khadka.

    • After clinching Asia Cup, Sri Lanka, playing at the same venue, will eye another trophy. Sri Lanka, who ended as runners-up in 2009 and 2012, will be lead by Dinesh Chandimal.

    • After guiding West Indies to their maiden ICC World Twenty20 title in 2012, Darren Sammy will look to add another feather on his hat.

    • Wicketkeeper batsman Jamie Atkinson will lead the Hong Kong team.

    • The experienced William Portfield will hope his Irish team can topple a few in the tournament.

    • Mushfiqur Rahim's Bangladesh didn't impress in the Asia Cup and will try to cheer up the home fans with some impressive performances.