Quick Links



    In pics: The past champions of Indian Premier League

    • The Chennai Super Kings were the emperors again in 2011. At Chepauk, Dhoni's army ambushed the Royal Challengers by a huge margin of 58 runs to defend theircitadel.

    • Adam Gilchrist and his never-say-die Deccan Chargers team-mates pipped Royal Challengers Bangalore by six runs in a humdinger to be crowned the second Indian Premier League champions in 2009.

    • Chennai Super Kings were crowned as IPL 3 champions after the MS Dhoni-led side brushed aside Mumbai Indians by 22 runs in the final at the DY Patil Stadium in Mumbai.

    • Rajasthan Royals won the inaugural Indian Premier League season in 2008. A Shane Warne-led team, riding on Yusuf Pathan's 56 off 39 balls, defeated Chennai Super Kings by three wickets in the final to lift the title.

    • Mumbai Indians, riding on Kieron Pollard's 60 off 32 balls, finally annexed their maiden Indian Premier League title upstaging a jittery Chennai Super Kings by 23 runs in the final, which happened to be Sachin Tendulkar's last IPL match.

    • Chennai Super Kings could have gone for a hat-trick but an upbeat Kolkata Knight Riders clinched their maiden Indian Premier League title by beating the two-time defending champions CSK by five wickets in a high-scoring final. An innings of 89 in 48 balls from Manvinder Bisla helped KKR overhaul a stiff target of 191 to win the game with two balls to spare at Chennai's home ground.