Quick Links



    Indian Premier League 2016: A look at the past champions

    • IPL 1 - RAJASTHAN ROYALS: The inaugural season of the Indian Premier League featured eight teams. Rajasthan Royals won the title beating Chennai Super Kings by 3 wickets in a close final. (Getty Images)

    • IPL 2 - DECCAN CHARGERS: The Indian Premier League 2009 season was hosted in South Africa because of the General Elections in India. Deccan Chargers beat Royal Challengers Bangalore by 6 runs in the final to lift their maiden title after finishing last in the league's inaugural season. (Getty Images)

    • IPL 3 - CHENNAI SUPER KINGS: The third season returned to India. MS Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings defeated Mumbai Indians in the final by 22 runs to win their first IPL Trophy. (Getty Images)

    • IPL 4 - CHENNAI SUPER KINGS: The 2011 season saw two new teams - Pune Warriors India (PWI) and Kochi Tuskers Kerala (KTK) - making their debut. The tournament was scheduled just 7 days after India won the ICC World Cup 2011. Chennai Super Kings successfully defended their title defeating Royal Challengers Bangalore by 58 runs in the final. (Getty Images)

    • IPL 5 - KOLKATA KNIGHT RIDERS: The fifth season featured nine teams. Kolkata Knight Riders defeated Chennai Super Kings by 5 wickets to win their maiden T20 trophy. (Getty Images)

    • IPL 6 - MUMBAI INDIANS: Mumbai Indians won the tournament for the first time, defeating Chennai Super Kings in the final by 23 runs. (Getty Images)

    • IPL 7 - KOLKATA KNIGHT RIDERS: The tournament was jointly hosted by India and the United Arab Emirates due to 2014 General Elections. Kolkata Knight Riders, who won their first title in 2012, went on to lift the IPL 2014 trophy defeating Kings XI Punjab by 3 wickets in the final. (Getty Images)

    • IPL 8 - MUMBAI INDIANS: Mumbai Indians' love affair with Eden Gardens continued as they clinched their second IPL title following a crushing 41-run win over Chennai Super Kings in a lop-sided summit clash. (PTI Photo)