Quick Links



    Snapshot: A history of the ICC Champions Trophy

    • New Zealand had lost their previous 13 ODI finals, but upset India to claim their first major international ODI series trophy.

    • Sri Lanka and India were declared joint winner after contesting two aborted finals.

    • England hosted the 2004 Champions Trophy which was won by West Indies at Lord’s, as their ninth-wicket pair of Ian Bradshaw and Courtney Browne downed the hosts in a thriller

    • For a region devastated Hurricanes Ivan and Jeanne off it, this was a victory to savour.

    • Australia continued their relentless march in ODI cricket by claiming the fifth Champions Trophy after beating West Indies by eight wickets in Mumbai on November 5, 2006.

    • A Hansie Cronje-led South Africa beat West Indies in the final of the first tournament – then known as the Wills International Cup – at Dhaka on November 1, 1998.

    • Starring in the semi-final and final was Jacques Kallis. The South African allrounder scored a hundred to down Sri Lanka in the semi-final and then took 5 for 30 in the final.

    • Inspired by Chris Cairns, New Zealand beat India in the final of the 2000 ICC Knockout at Nairobi on October 15 to lift the trophy in its second avatar.

    • The third installment of the tournament was held in Sri Lanka in 2002 just five months before the 2003 World Cup. The upcoming monsoon had its say as the final and the reserve day were washed out.

    • The sixth installment was postponed from 2008 to 2009 and shifted from Pakistan to South Africa over security concerns, and ended up being won by Australia again.