Quick Links

    footballnext News
    • 0
    • 0

    Manchester United's Ronaldo wins Ballon d'Or

    New Delhi: The result everyone was expecting has come to pass as the Red Devils' superstar winger has been named European Footballer of the Year.

    France Football has handed its prestigious Ballon d'Or award to Cristiano Ronaldo, a decision that will surprise no-one given his outstanding performances over the past 12 months.

    The 23-year-old led Sir Alex Ferguson's side to the Premier League and Champions League titles last term, netting some 42 goals along the way - an incredible feat for a player who predominately plays on the right flank.

    Ronaldo was a clear winner, collecting 77 votes from the 96 journalists who judge the award, while Lionel Messi of Barcelona and Liverpool's Fernando Torres filled out the placings.

    It is just the latest of many individual triumphs for the former Sporting Lisbon sensation, who was dubbed player of the year by the Football Writers' Association and the Professional Footballers' Association in 2006-07. He was recently named the 2008 FIFPro World Player of the Year.

    Ronaldo becomes the fourth Man United star to claim the Ballon d'Or, following in the footsteps of Denis Law (1964), Sir Bobby Charlton (1966) and George Best (1968).

    It is perhaps fitting that the Real Madrid target's win marks the 40th anniversary of Best's triumph, as he has often been compared to the late, great Ulsterman.

    Next up for Ronaldo is the FIFA World Player of the Year gong, which has never been won by an English-based player.

    More from Goal.com
    English debate: Are controversial chants really that bad, or do they come with the territory?
    La Liga team of the week: Round 13
    Calcio debate: Is Pirlo a hindrance to Milan?