2-min read

19th JK Tyre-FMSCI National Racing Championship: Anindith and Vishnu are the New Champions

Updated: November 21, 2016, 12:57 PM IST
facebook Twitter google skype whatsapp
19th JK Tyre-FMSCI National Racing Championship: Anindith and Vishnu are the New Champions
JK Tyre-FMSCI National Racing Championship in action (Image: JK Tyre Motorsport)

The 19th JK Tyre-FMSCI National Racing Championship came to a close on Sunday (November 20) with Anindith Reddy and Vishnu Prasad emerging as national champions in the Euro JK 16 and LGB Formula 4 categories at the Buddh International Circuit.

The final day had plenty of events lined up for the spectators, including a live concert, a series of stunts by world renowned Terry Grant and a racing bazaar. The champions graced the podium in front of about 20,000 plus spectators.

The father and son super biking duo of Gurvinder Singh and Simranjeet Singh had to settle for runners-up trophies despite winning their first races a day before.

Gurvinder slipped to fourth place in the JK 600cc to take the second position. In the JK 1000cc, Simranjeet tied with Sandesh P but yielded the title to him for coming behind him in the qualifying rounds. Deepak Ravikumar didn’t have any such problems, thanks to two podium finishes.

Vishnu and Anindith stormed across the finish line, winning both races on Saturday. Hyderabad’s Anindith started with 96 points on Sunday, with a handy 9 point lead. “I had a good start and managed to get ahead of the car in front of me right away. That made it easy for me,” he said.

He also clocked the fastest lap of the day, in the eighth, finishing the 5.1 km in just 2:01.411 minutes. Ananth Shanmugham and Nayan Chatterjee took second and the third places.

The LGB 4 too followed a similar script with Chennai’s Vishnu Prasad wrapping up the championship on Saturday itself. He had a 19-point lead going into Sunday, and zoomed his way past the chequered flag. He has been in prime form all through the season, taking virtually every round.

National Champions

Euro JK 16:

  1. Anindita Reddy (96 points); 2. Ananth Shanmugham (101); 3. Nayan Chatterjee (96)

LGB 4:

  1. Vishnu Prasad (96 points); 2. Raghul Rangasamy (75); 3. Saran Tmars (54)

JK 1000cc

  1. Sandesh P (27); 2. Simranjeet Singh (27); 3. Dilip Rogger

JK 600cc

  1. Deepak Ravikumar (27); 2. Gurvinder Singh (24); 3. Vijay Singh (22)

Results from Sunday

Euro JK 16:

Race 1: 1. Anindith Reddy; 2. Nayan Chatterjee; 3. Akhil Rabindra

Race 2: 1. Anindith Reddy; 2. Akhil Rabindra; 3. Krishna Mahadik


  1. Vishnu Prasad; 2. Raghul Rangasamy; 3. Brayan Perera

JK Touring cars

  1. Deepak Chinnapa; 2. Rajaram C; 3. M Sivaramakrishnan

JK 1000cc

  1. Sandesh S; 2. Simranjeet Singh; 3. Aakash Rajshakha

JK 600cc

  1. Deepak Ravikumar; 2. Vijay Singh; 3. Kulwant Singh
Read full article
Next Story
facebook Twitter google skype whatsapp

Live TV