1-min read

Jet Airways Signs Codeshare Agreement With Jetstar Asia

Press Trust Of India

Updated: March 20, 2017, 7:14 PM IST
facebook Twitter google skype whatsapp
Jet Airways Signs Codeshare Agreement With Jetstar Asia
Photo for representation only. Image: Reuters

New Delhi: Private carrier Jet Airways on Monday announced its codeshare agreement with Singapore-based low- fares airline Jetstar Asia for flights from the city-state.

Following the tie-up, travellers can now fly from India to Singapore on a Jet Airways plane and onward to Hong Kong or Bangkok on a Jetstar Asia flight. Passengers can also return to India on Jet Airways directly from Hong Kong or Bangkok, all on a single itinerary, according to the airline. Codesharing allows an airline to book its passengers on its partner carriers and provide seamless travel to destinations where it has no presence.

As per the agreement, Jet Airways will place its marketing code '9W' on Jetstar Asia flights operating from Singapore to 11 destinations across Asia Pacific region, a statement said. The destinations include Bangkok and Phuket in Thailand; Perth and Darwin in Australia; Jakarta, Denpasar Bali and Surabaya in Indonesia; Ho-Chi-Minh City in Vietnam; Kuala Lumpur and Penang in Malaysia; and Hong Kong.

With this codeshare, Jet Airways will extend its codeshare foot-print to three new destinations -- Darwin, Phuket and Penang, the airline statement said.

"Our guests will now be able to conveniently tap into this extensive network to explore new and exotic destinations across Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand, Vietnam, Hong Kong and Australia via Singapore," Chief Commercial Officer, Jet Airways, Jayaraj Shanmugam said. Bookings for the codeshare flights will open for sale on March 22, for travel commencing March 26, 2017. Jetstar Asia currently flies to 25 cities in Southeast Asia, China and Australia. This is the second major code share agreement for Jet Airways in the recent past. Last month, it had tied-up with Hong Kong airline enabling Indian fliers to travel seamlessly to New Zealand, Japan, Indonesia, Vietnam and Thailand.

Read full article
Next Story
facebook Twitter google skype whatsapp

Live TV