Be a responsible citizen. Come, pledge to always check and share verified and vetted news.
3-min read

Pak polls live: Nawaz Sharif set for third term as PM, calls party meet


Updated: May 12, 2013, 9:36 AM IST
facebook Twitter google skype whatsapp
Pak polls live: Nawaz Sharif set for third term as PM, calls party meet
PML-N chief Nawaz Sharif says relationship with India is his top priority and he will write a new chapter of peace and harmony in the region.

Islamabad: Party-wise National Assembly results: Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) - 107 (Unofficial, Geo News)

Pakistan Tehrik-i-Insaaf (PTI) - 29 (Unofficial, Geo News)

Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) - 25 (Unofficial, Geo News)

Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam-Fazl (JUI) - 2 (Unofficial, Geo News)

Jamaat-i-Islami (JI) - 3

Pakhtunkhwa Milli Awami Party (PKMAP) - 9

Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) - 3

Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q) - 2

National Party (NP) - Awaited

Balochistan National Party (BNP) - Awaited

All Pakistan Muslim League (APML) - Awaited

Awami National Party (ANP) - Awaited

Results - Key contestants:

Nawaz Sharif, PMLN: Wins from Sargodha, Punjab;

Shahbaz Sharif, PMLN: Wins from Lahore;

Imran Khan, PTI: Wins from Peshawar, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

Raza Pervez Ashraf, PPP: Trailing in Rawalpindi, Punjab

(All results are subject to change by ECP. )

Live Updates:

3:15 pm: Projected result says PML-N secures most National Assembly seats with PTI as runner up.

2:45 pm: PTI wins 13 seats in K-P Assembly, say reports.

2:10 pm: PML-N dominates Punjab, PTI rule K-P, PPP hold Sindh, say reports.

1:48 pm: PML-N secures 10 seats in Punjab Assembly, say reports.

12:30 pm: Nawaz Sharif calls meeting of PML-N party leaders in Raiwind, say reports.

11:50 am: Nawaz Sharif's brother Shahbaz Sharif wins from Lahore.

10:15 am: Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Omar Abdullah tweets, "Congratulations to Nawaz Sharif. I hope he is now able to live up to his commitment to restart his peace process interrupted in 1999."

9:20 am: Former Pakistan president Pervez Musharraf cries foul. Musharraf says the poll outcome would have been remarkably different had a level playing field been provided. "In the face of lawlessness and terrorist threats, it is noteworthy that the people of Pakistan came out in large numbers to exercise their right to vote. In the midst of celebration by victors, it is important to underscore that a level playing field was absent in this election. If the coordinated actions between a malicious judiciary and Taliban militants had not prevented former president Musharraf from participating in the elections and had not impeded other liberal and progressive voices in the country from openly canvassing, the election outcome would have been remarkably different," his statement read.

9:00 am: Nawaz Sharif says, "I declare victory of PML-N. People of Pakistan wanted a credible face and they have given mandate to us. Relationship with India is my top priority and will write a new chapter of peace and harmony in this region."

PML-N chief Nawaz Sharif is set for a third term as Pakistan's Prime Minister as his party took a massive lead over its rivals in the general election, according to provisional results from across the country. Sharif's Pakistan Muslim League declared victory on Saturday night amidst violence and re-polling followed by reports of rigging votes in the landmark elections that were held in Pakistan. Trends show that PML-N won 130 seats out of 272 while Imran Khan's Pakistan Tehreek-E-Insaaf (PTI) conceded defeat after bagging around 34 seats.

Street celebrations started late at night after Sharif addressed his supporters and asked to pray for an absolute majority. Sharif registered victory from Sargodha constituency in Punjab Province.

Leader of PTI, Imran Khan also won from Mianwali constituency. Pakistan's Chief Election Commissioner Fakhruddin Ibrahim said that there was nearly 60 per cent voter turnout this time which is a significant increase from 44.5 per cent in 2008.

Meanwhile, former prime minister Raja Pervez Ashraf from the PPP is trailing in his constituency of Rawalpindi.

The PML-N's strong performance will make it possible for Sharif to form the government at the centre with the backing of independent candidates and smaller right wing parties like the Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam, analysts said.

Sources said that the PML-N would also not be averse to working with the PPP after forming the government as the party's leaders were not keen on an alliance with Imran Khan's Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf. To win a simple majority, a party or coalition would have to bag 137 of the 272 National Assembly seats for which polls were held.

Another 70 seats, reserved for women and non-Muslims, will be allocated to parties according to their performance in polls. To have a majority 342-member National Assembly, a party or coalition would need 172 seats.

With Additional Inputs from PTI

First Published: May 12, 2013, 9:36 AM IST
Read full article
Next Story
facebook Twitter google skype whatsapp