GET Stock QuotesNews18 APP
News18 English

Assembly Election LIVE Results

  • LOST

    Shaktisinh Gohil

    INC (Mandvi)
  • WON

    Jignesh Mevani

    IND (Vadgam (SC)
  • WON

    Alpesh Thakor

    INC (Radhanpur)
  • WON

    Nitinbhai Patel

    BJP (Mahesana)
  • WON

    Hitu Kanodiya

    BJP (Idar (SC)
  • WON

    Pradipsinh Jadeja

    BJP (Vatva)
  • LOST

    Babubhai Mangukiya

    INC (Thakkarbapa Nagar)
  • WON

    Himmatsinh Patel

    INC (Bapunagar)
  • WON

    Bhupendrasinh Chudasama

    BJP (Dholka)
  • WON

    Somabhai Patel

    INC (Limbdi)
  • LOST

    Indranil Rajguru

    INC (Rajkot West)
  • WON

    Vijay Rupani

    BJP (Rajkot West)
  • WON

    Jayesh Radadiya

    BJP (Jetpur)
  • WON

    Lalit Vasoya

    INC (Dhoraji)
  • LOST

    Raghavjibhai Patel

    BJP (Jamnagar Rural)
  • WON

    Hakubha Jadeja

    BJP (Jamnagar North)
  • LOST

    Arjun Modhwadia

    INC (Porbandar)
  • WON

    Paresh Dhanani

    INC (Amreli)
  • WON

    Purshottam Solanki

    BJP (Bhavnagar Rural)
  • WON

    Jitu Vaghan

    BJP (Bhavnagar West)
  • WON

    Saurabh Patel

    BJP (Botad)
  • LOST

    Ramsinh Parmar

    BJP (Thasra)
  • WON

    CK Raulji

    BJP (Godhra)
  • WON

    Mohansinh Rathava

    INC (Chhota Udaipur (ST)
  • LOST

    Siddharth Patel

    INC (Dabhoi)
  • WON

    Manisha Vakil

    BJP (Vadodara City (SC)
  • WON

    Rajendra Trivedi

    BJP (Raopura)
  • WON

    Mahesh Vasava

    BTP (Dediapada (ST)
  • WON

    Chhotubhai Vasava

    BTP (Jhagadia (ST)
  • LOST

    Tusharbhai Chaudhari

    INC (Mahuva (ST)
  • LOST

    Thakur Singh Bharmouri

    INC (Bharmour (ST)
  • WON

    Asha Kumari

    INC (Dalhousie)

    GS Bali

    INC (Nagrota)
  • LOST

    Sudhir Sharma

    INC (Dharamshala)
  • LOST

    Indu Goswami

    BJP (Palampur)
  • WON

    Jai Ram Thakur

    BJP (Seraj)
  • WON

    Anil Sharma

    BJP (Mandi)
  • LOST

    Champa Thakur

    INC (Mandi)
  • LOST

    Prem Kumar Dhumal

    BJP (Sujanpur)
  • LOST

    Satpal Singh Satti

    BJP (Una)
  • WON

    Virbhadra Singh

    INC (Arki)
  • WON

    Suresh Bhardwaj

    BJP (Shimla)
  • WON

    Vikramaditya Singh

    INC (Shimla Rural)
  • WON

    Narinder Bragta

    BJP (Jubbal Kotkhai)
1-min read

BHU Chief Proctor Resigns Over Violent Protests, Pressure Mounts on V-C

On Tuesday, the Joint Action Committee (JAC) of BHU had come out with a list of demands, including suspension of vice chancellor GC Tripathi.

Updated:September 27, 2017, 8:28 AM IST
BHU Chief Proctor Resigns Over Violent Protests, Pressure Mounts on V-C
ABVP activists protesting against harassment of women at BHU. (TV Grab)
Varanasi: Chief Proctor of Banaras Hindu University Professor Onkar Nath Singh resigned on Wednesday citing “moral responsibility” for the violent protests that rocked the campus last week.

Sources said Singh was asked to step down by the HRD ministry which is reportedly unhappy with the way student protests against eve-teasing and harassment on campus were handled.

The Chief Proctor is the official charged with ensuring law and order on university campus.

On Tuesday, the Joint Action Committee (JAC) of BHU had come out with a list of demands, including suspension of vice chancellor GC Tripathi. The demands also include “suspension of District Magistrate, SSP of Varanasi and strict legal action against the culprits.”

This came as the Yogi Adityanath government in the state ordered a judicial inquiry into the violence on campus.

Earlier in the day, the Varanasi district magistrate had written to the BHU Registrar asking him to take immediate steps to address the concerns of the female students. It was also said that the university V-C’s chair is now at risk after he failed to handle the situation.

The UP government finally intervened in the BHU case, a day after both Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah asked the UP chief minister about the Saturday night incident.

On Saturday night, police resorted to lathicharge hundreds of girls outside the BHU campus, where they were protesting against the molestation of a fellow student, university authorities who ended up victim shaming her and a general lack of security on campus.

The protests turned violent when some miscreants tried to burn a few properties and police used force to quell the agitation.

On Monday, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP president Amit Shah spoke to the CM and asked him to address the issue at the earliest.

UP government spokesperson and cabinet minister Srikant Sharma said that the government wanted communication between students, local administration, vice chancellor and other university officials. Sharma accused the opposition parties of trying to vitiate the academic atmosphere.

“If they wish to do politics, they should do it with us and not with students. They should keep away from holding agitations in campuses,” he said.

On the lathicharge claims, he said, "We are identifying those 'outsiders' who are using the students to do politics and also identifying those who indulged in lathicharge."
Read full article
Next Story

Live TV

File is:/article-scroll-new.php