News18 APP


Be a responsible citizen. Come, pledge to always check and share verified and vetted news.
1-min read

Hamilton takes pole at Hungarian Grand Prix

News18test sharma |

Updated: August 2, 2008, 6:46 PM IST
facebook Twitter google skype whatsapp
Hamilton takes pole at Hungarian Grand Prix
He powered around the Hungaroring track in one minute 20.899 seconds.

Budapest: World championship leader Lewis Hamilton put himself on course for a third successive Grand Prix victory after grabbing an emphatic pole position for Sunday's Hungary race.

Hamilton powered around the blisteringly hot Hungaroring track in one minute 20.899 seconds, with team mate Heikki Kovalainen posting the second best time of 1:21.140.

Hamilton's nearest rival for the drivers' title, Ferrari's Felipe Massa, had to settle for third place after finishing his last flying lap in 1:21.191.

Massa's team mate Kimi Raikkonen will start in a disappointing sixth place behind BMW's Robert Kubica and Toyota's Timo Glock.

The qualifying result will give a huge advantage to the McLaren team who should prove hard to overtake on the slow and twisty Budapest course.

Provisional starting grid for Sunday's Hungarian Grand Prix at Budapest after qualifying on Saturday 1. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) McLaren 1 min 20.899 secs 2. Heikki Kovalainen (Finland) McLaren 1:21.140 3. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 1:21.191 4. Robert Kubica (Poland) BMW Sauber 1:21.281 5. Timo Glock (Germany) Toyota 1:21.326 6. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari 1:21.516 7. Fernando Alonso (Spain) Renault 1:21.698 8. Mark Webber (Australia) RedBull - Renault 1:21.732 9. Jarno Trulli (Italy) Toyota 1:21.767 10. Nelson Piquet (Brazil) Renault 1:22.371 11. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Toro Rosso - Ferrari 1:20.144 12. Jenson Button (Britain) Honda 1:20.332 13. David Coulthard (Britain) RedBull - Renault 1:20.502 14. Sebastien Bourdais (France) Toro Rosso - Ferrari 1:20.963 15. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Williams - Toyota 16. Nick Heidfeld (Germany) BMW Sauber 1:21.045 17. Kazuki Nakajima (Japan) Williams - Toyota 1:21.085 18. Rubens Barrichello (Brazil) Honda 1:21.332 19. Giancarlo Fisichella (Italy) Force India - Ferrari 1:21.670 20. Adrian Sutil (Germany) Force India - Ferrari 1:22.113.

First Published: August 2, 2008, 6:46 PM IST
Read full article
Next Story
facebook Twitter google skype whatsapp