Be a responsible citizen. Come, pledge to always check and share verified and vetted news.
2-min read

Hazarika, Mario Miranda get Padma Vibushan

News18test sharma |

Updated: January 25, 2012, 3:58 PM IST
facebook Twitter google skype whatsapp
Hazarika, Mario Miranda get Padma Vibushan
As many as 109 awards, including five Padma Vibushan, Padma Bushan and Padma Shri have been announced.

New Delhi: Late lyricist and singer Bhupen Hazarika and former civil servant and governor TV Rajeswar have been chosen for Padma Vibushan award, the second highest civilian honour, for this year's Padma awards.

Late cartoonist Mario de Miranda, 88-year-old eminent painter, K G Subramanyan and Kantilal H Sancheti, well known orthopaedic in whose hospital in Pune Anna Hazare had undergone treatment recently, were also named for the Padma Vibushan award.

As many as 109 awards, including five Padma Vibushan, Padma Bushan and Padma Shri, from various disciplines and fields of activity were announced on the eve of Republic Day.

Fourteen people in the category of Foreigners, NRIs, PIOs and posthumous figure in the award list on Wednesday.

There are 19 women among the awardees and about one-third of the awards has gone to those in various disciplines of art category.

Nobody was named for the highest honour of Bharat Ratna this year too. Late Bhimsen Joshi was the last awardee in this category in 2008.

Film actors Dharmendra and Shabana Azmi, director Mira Nair, painter Jatin Das, London-based sculpture artist Anish Kapoor and Carnatic instrumentalist TV Gopalakrishnan and MS Gopalakrishnan get Padma Bushan awards.

The Indian women's cricket team captain Jhulan Goswami, former hockey captain Zafar Iqbal and archer Limba Ram were among the sportspersons chosen for the prestigious Padma Shri awards announced on the eve of the Republic Day.

Jhulan, who heads the ICC rankings for bowlers, has a Test bowling average of less than 20. In the 2006-07 season she guided the Indian team to its first Test series win in England.

The Arjuna awardee won the ICC Women's Player of the Year 2007 and the MA Chidambaram trophy for Best Woman Cricketer in 2011.

Former hockey player Zafar Iqbal was a nippy winger whose deft stick work and speed made him a star during his playing days. Iqbal was a member of the 1980 team that won the last Olympic Gold Medal for India.

He captained the Indian squad in the Asian Games (1982) and the 1984 Summer Olympics. The Arjuna awardee served as national coach from early 1993 to October 1994.

Limba, who was coach of the Indian team during the 2010 Commonwealth Games, was an archer par excellence in his playing days.

In 1989 he reached the World Championship quarterfinal held in Switzerland and got the second rank in the Asian Cup in Individuals besides helping India get the team Gold.

In 1990, Limba helped India finish fourth in Beijing Asian Games. He represented India in three Olympics. In 1992 he equalled the world record of Takayoshi Matsushita in the Beijing Asian Championship in 30 meters event with score 357/360 to bag a gold medal. He was honoured with an Arjuna award in 1991.

The annual roll of honours for "distinguished service in any field" also included Ajeet Bajaj (Skiing), Devendra Jhajrija (Athletics- Paralympics) and Mohammed Arif (Badminton).

Sports commentator Ravi Chaturvedi was also among the list of awardees. No sportsperson was picked for the Padma Vibhushan and Padma Bhushan award.

The awards are conferred by the President at a function held at the Rashtrapati Bhawan sometime around March/April.

This year the President has approved 109 awards. These comprise five Padma Vibhushan, 27 Padma Bhushan and 77 Padma Shri Awards.

First Published: January 25, 2012, 3:58 PM IST
Read full article
Next Story
facebook Twitter google skype whatsapp