Be a responsible citizen. Come, pledge to always check and share verified and vetted news.
1-min read

Navy releases list of 18 personnel of INS Sindhurakshak

Updated: August 15, 2013, 11:41 PM IST
facebook Twitter google skype whatsapp
Navy releases list of 18 personnel of INS Sindhurakshak
The list includes three officers and 15 sailors who were inside the submarine when the blasts took place.

New Delhi: The Indian Navy has released the list of duty personnel inside INS Sindhurakshak at the time of the twin blasts. The 18 personnel have not been been sighted or recovered by the Navy divers who have been involved in the rescue and salvage operations since early Wednesday morning at the Naval Dockyards in Mumbai.

Hope is fading fast as it has been almost 40 hours since the accident even though Navy divers entered INS Sindurakshak on August 14 evening. The heat of the explosion has melted parts of the internal hull deforming the submarine hatches and preventing access to several compartments.

Heavy duty pumps are being used to pump out the water from the submarine. There has been large scale ingress of sea water into the submarine due to the explosion. Navy spokesperson Narendra Kumar Vispute said that families of the trapped submariners have been informed about the tragedy. Of the 18, eight were married.

The list of missing INS Sindhurakshak crew

Officers - Rank

Nikhilesh Pal - Lieutenant Commander
Alok Kumar - Lieutenant Commander
R Venkitaraj - Lieutenant commander

Sailors - Rank

Sanjeev Kumar - PO UW I
KC Upadhyay - PO UW I
Timothy Sinha - PO UW I
Kewal Singh - LS UC I
Sunil Kumar - SEA I UW III
Dasari Prasad - MECH(R) 2
Liju Lawrence - LEMP
Rajesh Tootika - LME
Amit K Singh - STD I
Atul Sharma - SEA I
Vikas E - SEA I
Naruttam Deuri - ME I
Malay Haldar - EMR II
Vishnu V - RO II
Seetaram Badapalli - LS RP I

First Published: August 15, 2013, 11:41 PM IST
Read full article
Next Story
facebook Twitter google skype whatsapp