GET Stock QuotesNews18 APP
News18 English

Assembly Election LIVE Results

  • LOST

    Shaktisinh Gohil

    INC (Mandvi)
  • WON

    Jignesh Mevani

    IND (Vadgam (SC)
  • WON

    Alpesh Thakor

    INC (Radhanpur)
  • WON

    Nitinbhai Patel

    BJP (Mahesana)
  • WON

    Hitu Kanodiya

    BJP (Idar (SC)
  • WON

    Pradipsinh Jadeja

    BJP (Vatva)
  • LOST

    Babubhai Mangukiya

    INC (Thakkarbapa Nagar)
  • WON

    Himmatsinh Patel

    INC (Bapunagar)
  • WON

    Bhupendrasinh Chudasama

    BJP (Dholka)
  • WON

    Somabhai Patel

    INC (Limbdi)
  • LOST

    Indranil Rajguru

    INC (Rajkot West)
  • WON

    Vijay Rupani

    BJP (Rajkot West)
  • WON

    Jayesh Radadiya

    BJP (Jetpur)
  • WON

    Lalit Vasoya

    INC (Dhoraji)
  • LOST

    Raghavjibhai Patel

    BJP (Jamnagar Rural)
  • WON

    Hakubha Jadeja

    BJP (Jamnagar North)
  • LOST

    Arjun Modhwadia

    INC (Porbandar)
  • WON

    Paresh Dhanani

    INC (Amreli)
  • WON

    Purshottam Solanki

    BJP (Bhavnagar Rural)
  • WON

    Jitu Vaghan

    BJP (Bhavnagar West)
  • WON

    Saurabh Patel

    BJP (Botad)
  • LOST

    Ramsinh Parmar

    BJP (Thasra)
  • WON

    CK Raulji

    BJP (Godhra)
  • WON

    Mohansinh Rathava

    INC (Chhota Udaipur (ST)
  • LOST

    Siddharth Patel

    INC (Dabhoi)
  • WON

    Manisha Vakil

    BJP (Vadodara City (SC)
  • WON

    Rajendra Trivedi

    BJP (Raopura)
  • WON

    Mahesh Vasava

    BTP (Dediapada (ST)
  • WON

    Chhotubhai Vasava

    BTP (Jhagadia (ST)
  • LOST

    Tusharbhai Chaudhari

    INC (Mahuva (ST)
  • LOST

    Thakur Singh Bharmouri

    INC (Bharmour (ST)
  • WON

    Asha Kumari

    INC (Dalhousie)
  • LOST

    GS Bali

    INC (Nagrota)
  • LOST

    Sudhir Sharma

    INC (Dharamshala)
  • LOST

    Indu Goswami

    BJP (Palampur)
  • WON

    Jai Ram Thakur

    BJP (Seraj)
  • WON

    Anil Sharma

    BJP (Mandi)
  • LOST

    Champa Thakur

    INC (Mandi)
  • LOST

    Prem Kumar Dhumal

    BJP (Sujanpur)
  • LOST

    Satpal Singh Satti

    BJP (Una)
  • WON

    Virbhadra Singh

    INC (Arki)
  • WON

    Suresh Bhardwaj

    BJP (Shimla)
  • WON

    Vikramaditya Singh

    INC (Shimla Rural)
  • WON

    Narinder Bragta

    BJP (Jubbal Kotkhai)
2-min read

With MNS Adamant, Fate of Ae Dil Hai Mushkil and Other Films Hang in Balance

Uncertainty plagues the release of some upcoming big banner multi-starrer films.


Updated:October 7, 2016, 9:07 AM IST
With MNS Adamant, Fate of Ae Dil Hai Mushkil and Other Films Hang in Balance
A still from Ae Dil Hai Mushkil

Mumbai: Uncertainty plagues the release of upcoming big banner multi-starrer films as the Maharashtra Navnirman Sena refused to budge from its stand opposing the inclusion of Pakistani actors in them.

MNS Vice-President Shalini Thackeray said on Thursday that it is no longer "a party issue, but a national sentiment and our stand is unchanged in view of the public angst".

Her reaction followed a meeting with representatives of the powerful Indian Motion Picture Producers Association (IMPPA) who pleaded with her to permit the release of filmmaker Karan Johar's Ae Dil Hai Mushkil and Shah Rukh Khan's Raees -- both having Pakistani actors.

Seeking the MNS's co-operation to release these films, the IMPPA delegation led by its President T. P. Agarwal said that the Pakistani actors, worked, took their money and left.

However, now it was the IMPPA's duty to help the Indian filmmakers as huge investments are blocked and they could suffer heavy losses.

"The Indian producers have earned enough from the Indian audiences... Its time now that they respect national and public sentiments. Our stand on the matter remains the same," Thackeray told IANS.

She said her party supported the IMPPA stand for a ban on all Pakistani actors and artistes working in the country, announced last week.

The IMPPA issued a statement that read: "IMPPA at its Seventy Seventh Annual General Meeting on September 29, 2016 unanimously resolved to appeal to all IMPPA members to henceforth in future not to work with any artistes, singers and technicians from Pakistan until the situation of hostilities between Pakistan and India subsides and the government of India declares that all is well with Pakistan and India."

Thackeray said she had agreed to take a joint delegation of the IMPPA and MNS to the government seeking a ban on giving Indian working visas to Pakistani artistes.

However, she reiterated the MNS stand that Pakistani actors must not be hired for Indian films as the people are now against watching such films, and hailed the recent Zee TV decision to yank off all its television serials starring Pakistanis.

At least three major films, Ae Dil Hai Mushkil, Raees and Dear Zindagi are slated for release over the next few weeks, but the MNS objection has created a huge hurdle in terms of pre-release promotional, booking cinema halls and related issues.

Read full article
Next Story

Live TV

File is:/article-scroll-new.php