1-min read

National Boxing Championship: Sarjubala Devi Clinches 3rd Successive Gold

Updated: November 24, 2016, 9:32 PM IST
facebook Twitter google skype whatsapp
National Boxing Championship: Sarjubala Devi Clinches 3rd Successive Gold
Boxer Sarjubala Devi after winning the national champion crown for the third time.

Former World Championships silver-medallist Sarjubala Devi clinched her third national champion crown after defeating local favourite Krishna Thapa in the 46-48kg category at the Women's Senior National Boxing Championship in Haridwar on Thursday.

In a repeat of the 2011 finals where the Manipuri boxer had defeated the same opponent, Sarjubala, who won the title twice in the past, once again had the last laugh against Thapa. She was unanimously adjudged the winner over Thapa, who represents Uttarakhand.

Haryana boxers Neeraja and Shiksha made their state proud by winning the title in the flyweight and Bantamweight categories respectively.

In 51kg division, Neeraja defeated Meenakshi, who represented Railway Sports promotion Board, while Shiksha prevailed over Soniya in 54kg category after unanimous decisions by the judges.

RSPB's Priyanka Choudhary dished out a dominating performance in the lightweight (60kg) division to get the better off Haryana's Monika 4-1 to clinch the title.

In light Welterweight (64 kg), Simranjit Kaur scored a technical knockout over Jyoti in the fourth round of the final bout to emerge victorious on the concluding day of the National tournament.

In the middleweight 75kg category, All India Police's Kavita emerged the winner out-passing her opponent Rumi Gogoi (ARU) 4:1. Haryana dominated the 81 kg category with their Saweety clinching the win straight 5:0 from Nirmala (AIP).

In Feather weight 57 kg category Soniya from Haryana was declared the winner unanimously against her opponent Kamla Bist from Uttrakhand.

Kavita Chahal from Haryana suffered a shock defeat by Seema Poonia who represents Railways Sports Promotion Board in the last bout of the Senior Women's National Boxing Championship.

Read full article
Next Story
facebook Twitter google skype whatsapp

Live TV