Be a responsible citizen. Come, pledge to always check and share verified and vetted news.
1-min read

150 new lawmakers accused of breaking law

News18test sharma |

Updated: May 17, 2009, 6:04 PM IST
facebook Twitter google skype whatsapp
150 new lawmakers accused of breaking law
73 MPs accused of serious offences; no party is innocent.

New Delhi: Every fourth lawmaker in the newly elected fifteenth Lok Sabha is accused of breaking the law and has cases filed against them in law courts.

As many as 150 MPs have at least one case filed against them, according to affidavits filed by them before elections. Seventy-three of these 150 MPs are accused of serious offences.

Eight of the new MPs face at least 10 cases each. These include Congress MP Radadiya Vitthalbhai Hansrajbhai (Porbandar), JD(S) leader N Chaluvarayswamy (Mandya), BJD's Tathagata Satpathy (Dhenkanal), Shiv Sena's Chandrakant Khaire (Aurangabad), NCP's Udyanraje Pratapsinhmaharaj Bhonsle (Satara), CPM's P Karunakaran (Kasaragod), BJP's Ramakant
Yadav (Azamgarh) and SP's Bal Kumar Patel (Mirzapur).

Those with five or more cases include BJP's Feroze Varun Gandhi (Pilibhit), Congress' Sanjay Nirupam (Mumbai North), BJP's C R Patil (Navasari), Trinamool Congress' Tapas Paul (Krishnagar), Congress MP N Dharam Singh (Bidar) and Congress MP Rajkumari Ratna Singh (Pratapgarh).

Other prominent winners with legal cases against them include Kirti Azad, Gopinath Munde, Lalu Prasad and Aditya Nath.

In 2004, there were 128 MPs with criminal cases.

First Published: May 17, 2009, 6:04 PM IST
Read full article
Next Story
facebook Twitter google skype whatsapp