Be a responsible citizen. Come, pledge to always check and share verified and vetted news.
2-min read

1984 riots: A chronology of events in Sajjan Kumar's case

Updated: April 30, 2013, 5:33 PM IST
facebook Twitter google skype whatsapp
1984 riots: A chronology of events in Sajjan Kumar's case
Congress leader Sajjan Kumar was on Tuesday acquitted in a 1984 anti-Sikh riots case by a Delhi court.

New Delhi: Congress leader Sajjan Kumar was on Tuesday acquitted in a 1984 anti-Sikh riots case by a Delhi court which held five others guilty for murdering five Sikhs and rioting after the assassination of then Prime Minister Indira Gandhi.

The case against Sajjan Kumar was opened on the recommendation of the Nanavati Commission.

Sajjan Kumar had maintained a stoic silence on his role in the 1984 anti-Sikh riots. In the past 29 years, the Congress leader never spoke to the media about the allegations levelled against him.

Following is a chronology of events:

October 31, 1984: Indira Gandhi shot dead by her two body guards at her residence.

November 1-2: Mob kills five Sikhs - Kehar Singh, Gurpreet Singh, Raghuvender Singh, Narender Pal Singh and Kuldeep Singh - in Raj Nagar area of Delhi Cantonment as anti-Sikh riots break out in the capital.

2000: GT Nanavati Commission set up to probe riots related cases.

December 2002: Sajjan Kumar is acquitted by a Sessions Court in one of the anti-Sikh riot cases.

October 24, 2005: CBI registers another case on the recommendation of GT Nanavati Commission.

January 13, 2010: CBI files chargesheet before CMM in Tis Hazari Court. Case is transferred to Karkardooma Court.

February 1, 2010: Court issues summons against Sajjan Kumar, Balwan Khokkar, Mahender Yadav, Captain Bagmal, Girdhari Lal, Krishan Khokkar, late Maha Singh and Santosh Rani, named as accused.

February 8: Delhi High Court appoints senior advocate RS Cheema as Special Public Prosecutor and directs day-to-day trial for concluding proceedings within six months.

February 15: Trial court rejects Sajjan Kumar's anticipatory bail plea.

February 17: Court issues non-bailable warrants against Sajjan Kumar.

February 23: CBI informs court that Sajjan Kumar is non-traceable. Court directs CBI Director to supervise Kumar's arrest.

February 26: HC grants anticipatory bail to Sajjan Kumar.

May 15: Trial court frames charges of murder, dacoity, mischief to cause damage to property, promoting enmity between different communities, criminal conspiracy and other sections of the IPC against the six accused.

July 1: CBI begins recording statements of 17 witnesses.

June 9, 2011: Prosecution evidence concludes.

August 1, 2011: Defence evidence begins, 17 witnesses examined, including six Delhi Police officials.

January 9, 2012: Defence evidence concludes.

March 31: CBI begins final arguments.

April 23: CBI concluded final arguments.

August 13: Defence counsel begins its arguments.

February 4: Defence concludes final arguments.

April 16: Court reserves judgement in the case.

April 30: Court acquits Sajjan Kumar. Balwan Khokkar, Girdhari Lal and Captain Bhagmal held guilty for the offence of murder under section 302 IPC while Mahender Yadav and Kishan Khokkar stand convicted for the offence of rioting only.

First Published: April 30, 2013, 5:33 PM IST
Read full article
Next Story
facebook Twitter google skype whatsapp