4-min read

Live: Nitish Kumar's JD(U) wins vote of confidence in Bihar Assembly


Updated: June 19, 2013, 12:22 PM IST
facebook Twitter google skype whatsapp
Live: Nitish Kumar's JD(U) wins vote of confidence in Bihar Assembly
Chief Minister Nitish Kumar got 126 votes in his favour in Bihar Assembly.

Patna: 2:35 PM: Nitish Kumar's JD(U) wins vote of confidence in Bihar Assembly by 126 votes.

2:30 PM: Voting on trust vote begins in Bihar Assembly.

2:22 PM: Nitish Kumar says, "There was no problem with (Narendra Modi) becoming the committee chief. But, the way it was presented, there was no more doubt what was expected next."

2:19 PM: Nitish Kumar says that he will never accept divisive politics in India.

2:17 PM: While commenting on the clashes that took place on Tuesday between the BJP and the JD(U) workers in Bihar, Nitish says, "What happened yesterday (the clash) was not right. It shouldn't have happened. Both the parties should avoid it. But we didn't start it."

2:15 PM: Nitish Kumar says, "The BJP kept saying clear your stand and when we did, they said we have betrayed them. Those who don't know how to treat their seniors, shouldn't talk to us about betrayal."

2:12 PM: Nitish Kumar adds, "The Congress offered support and the Prime Minister praised me. I thank them. To impose someone is not the way. This won't work in an alliance."

2:10 PM: In 2010, I was ready to resign over Kosi row, says Nitish Kumar.

2:07 PM: Nitish Kumar while speaking in Bihar Assembly says, "In 2005 and 2009, why were people not called from outside? Why now? In June 2010, I was willing to quit, the alliance was at a break-point."

2:01 PM: Nitish Kumar adds, "No party should have this misconception that they can form a government on their own. This is an era of alliances. I praised Atal era because he used to take everyone along in the alliance. It is good that we took this decision. Things became clearer when RSS came out with its statement highlighting 'Hindutva'."

2:00 PM: Nitish Kumar says, "Whenever there has been interference in Bihar from outside, its development has been hampered."

1:56 PM: Nitish Kumar begins his address at Bihar Assembly session.

1:39 PM: Vilasrao Paswan's LJP does a U-turn, to abstain from voting.

1:23 PM: Six BJP MLAs likely to resign on Wednesday to join JD(U).

1:22 PM: Vilasrao Paswan's LJP, too, will abstain from voting.

1:21 PM: Four BJP MLAs absent from Bihar Assembly session despite a whip.

12:57 PM: Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar was seen smiling throughout the session.

12:56 PM: This is no point of participation in voting as Nitish is an opportunist, says Nand Kishore Yadav.

12:55 PM: BJP-JD(U) split is in the interest of the nation, says Congress leader Sadanand Singh.

12:51 PM: Congress leader Sadanand Singh begins his address at Bihar Assembly.

12:37 PM: Six rebel BJP MLAs to resign in favour of Nitish Kumar government.

12:38 PM: Nitish Kumar is 'double-faced', his real face will come in front of public very soon, says RJD.

12:30 PM: RJD leader Abdul Bari Siddiqui accuses Nitish Kumar of being 'communal', says he has role models like LK Advani.

12:26 PM: The BJP terms Nitish Kumar as 'opportunist'.

12:23 PM: RJD leader Abdul Bari Siddiqui begins his address at Bihar Assembly session.

12:19 PM: BJP to abstain from Wednesday's voting.

12:11 PM: BJP accuses Nitish govt of 'betrayal', boycotts Bihar Assembly session and stages walkout.

11:57 AM: Nitish's political ambitions will fall flat in Lok Sabha elections: BJP.

11:55 AM: BJP leader Nand Kishore Yadav accuses Nitish of casteism, says Bihar CM unhappy with Modi's growing clout as Modi belongs to a backward-caste.

11:50 AM: BJP accuses JD(U) of 'gundaraj' for attacking BJP workers during 'Bihar Bandh'.

11:49 AM: Dismissal of BJP ministers was disheartening, says Opposition leader Nand Kishore Yadav.

11:46 AM: Tall claims made by Bihar CM Nitish about women safety in Bihar fell flat during 'Bihar Bandh' when he instructed JD(U) workers to attack women with lathis and sticks, says Leader of opposition Nand Kishore Yadav.

11:40 AM: Nitish used Modi's appointment (as poll campaign chief) as an excuse to call off the alliance, although he had already made up his mind to break the ties with us: BJP leader Nand Kishore Yadav.

11:36 AM: Nitish offered a 'lame excuse' for BJP-JD(U) split as he raised objections over Modi's appointment as BJP' Poll Campaign Chief for next Lok Sabha elections, says BJP leader Nand Kishore Yadav.

11:31 AM: Current position of various political parties in Bihar Assembly -

JD(U) - 118

BJP - 91

RJD -22

Congress - 4

LJP -1

CPI - 1

Others - 6

11:28 AM: Nitish's hunger for 'secular' certificate by Congress is clearly visible: Nand Kishor Yadav.

11:27 AM: Nitish is solely responsible for BJP-JD(U) split: BJP leader Nand Kishore Yadav.

11:23 AM: BJP leader Nand Kishore Yadav accuses Nitish of 'breach of trust'.

11:22 AM: Nitish's behaviour over BJP-JD(U) split was extremely surprising: Opposition leader Nand Kishore Yadav.

11:18 AM: Blame game begins over BJP-JD(U) split, chaos in Bihar Assembly.

11:14 AM: Nitish government to get support of 127 MLAs.

11:11 AM: Expressing unhappiness over appointment of Nand Kishore Yadav as Opposition leader in Bihar assembly, four BJP MLAs boycott meeting held at Sushil Modi's residence.

11:04 AM: Congress MLAs to vote in favour of Nitish government.

10:59 AM: Nitish Kumar's close aide and Bihar Agriculture Minister Narendra Singh likely to become Deputy CM of Bihar

Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar on Wednesday moved a trust vote in the state legislature after the BJP-JD(U) split. Nitish is all set to win the trust vote as four Independents and even Congress legislators have indicated that they will vote for Nitish.

Sources added that a mini-rebellion in the BJP is likely with the party's six legislators to abstain from voting.

The BJP, with 91 MLAs, has walked out of the Assembly boycotting the motion. Nitish is confident of majority, with the Congress confirming that all four of its MLAs voting for the JD(U).

The JD(U) has 118 legislators but needs 122 votes to win the confidence of the House. Meanwhile, RJD's Lalu Yadav has said that his 22 legislators will all be voting against the JD(U).

First Published: June 19, 2013, 12:22 PM IST
Read full article
Next Story
facebook Twitter google skype whatsapp