GET Stock QuotesNews18 APP
News18 English

Assembly Election LIVE Results

  • LOST

    Shaktisinh Gohil

    INC (Mandvi)
  • WON

    Jignesh Mevani

    IND (Vadgam (SC)
  • WON

    Alpesh Thakor

    INC (Radhanpur)

    Nitinbhai Patel

    BJP (Mahesana)
  • WON

    Hitu Kanodiya

    BJP (Idar (SC)
  • WON

    Pradipsinh Jadeja

    BJP (Vatva)
  • LOST

    Babubhai Mangukiya

    INC (Thakkarbapa Nagar)
  • WON

    Himmatsinh Patel

    INC (Bapunagar)
  • WON

    Bhupendrasinh Chudasama

    BJP (Dholka)
  • WON

    Somabhai Patel

    INC (Limbdi)
  • LOST

    Indranil Rajguru

    INC (Rajkot West)
  • WON

    Vijay Rupani

    BJP (Rajkot West)
  • WON

    Jayesh Radadiya

    BJP (Jetpur)
  • WON

    Lalit Vasoya

    INC (Dhoraji)
  • LOST

    Raghavjibhai Patel

    BJP (Jamnagar Rural)
  • WON

    Hakubha Jadeja

    BJP (Jamnagar North)
  • LOST

    Arjun Modhwadia

    INC (Porbandar)
  • WON

    Paresh Dhanani

    INC (Amreli)
  • WON

    Purshottam Solanki

    BJP (Bhavnagar Rural)
  • WON

    Jitu Vaghan

    BJP (Bhavnagar West)

    Saurabh Patel

    BJP (Botad)
  • LOST

    Ramsinh Parmar

    BJP (Thasra)

    CK Raulji

    BJP (Godhra)
  • WON

    Mohansinh Rathava

    INC (Chhota Udaipur (ST)
  • LOST

    Siddharth Patel

    INC (Dabhoi)
  • WON

    Manisha Vakil

    BJP (Vadodara City (SC)
  • WON

    Rajendra Trivedi

    BJP (Raopura)
  • WON

    Mahesh Vasava

    BTP (Dediapada (ST)
  • WON

    Chhotubhai Vasava

    BTP (Jhagadia (ST)
  • LOST

    Tusharbhai Chaudhari

    INC (Mahuva (ST)
  • LOST

    Thakur Singh Bharmouri

    INC (Bharmour (ST)

    Asha Kumari

    INC (Dalhousie)

    GS Bali

    INC (Nagrota)
  • LOST

    Sudhir Sharma

    INC (Dharamshala)

    Indu Goswami

    BJP (Palampur)

    Jai Ram Thakur

    BJP (Seraj)
  • WON

    Anil Sharma

    BJP (Mandi)
  • LOST

    Champa Thakur

    INC (Mandi)

    Prem Kumar Dhumal

    BJP (Sujanpur)
  • LOST

    Satpal Singh Satti

    BJP (Una)

    Virbhadra Singh

    INC (Arki)
  • WON

    Suresh Bhardwaj

    BJP (Shimla)
  • WON

    Vikramaditya Singh

    INC (Shimla Rural)
  • WON

    Narinder Bragta

    BJP (Jubbal Kotkhai)
2-min read

As OPS-EPS Merger Talks Break Down, Four Truckloads of Affidavits Reach EC

Armed with four truckloads of affidavits, Tamil Nadu Law Minister CV Shanmugham reached the Election Commission office on Monday morning to stake claim to the AIADMK’s ‘two-leaf’ symbol as merger talks broke down between the rival party factions.

Nitisha Kashyap | CNN-News18

Updated:June 12, 2017, 4:39 PM IST

New Delhi: Armed with four truckloads of affidavits, Tamil Nadu Law Minister CV Shanmugham reached the Election Commission office on Monday morning to stake claim to the AIADMK’s ‘two-leaf’ symbol as merger talks broke down between the rival party factions.

The 3,10,000 affidavits reportedly contain signatures of party cadre declaring support for Tamil Nadu Chief Minister E Palaniswami, also known as EPS.

“The Election Commission asked us to submit these documents. As many as 123 MLAs are with EPS. These are affidavits of the office bearers,” Shanmugham told CNN-News18.

ALSO READ | Jaya's Niece Deepa Denied Entry at Poes Garden, Alleges Her Brother Set Her up

Shanmugham also termed the statements by Deepa Jayakumar, niece of the late chief minister J Jayalalithaa, as “irresponsible”. Deepa, who has floated a political outfit of her own, had alleged on Sunday that her estranged brother Deepak “plotted Jayalalithaa’s death” with VK Sasikala.

Shanmugham’s visit to the EC headquarters came a day after former chief minister O Panneerselvam, who leads the rival faction, dissolved a seven-member panel set up to hold merger talks Palaniswami.

“We dissolved the committee because the merger failed. We didn’t want to be part of the drama that the EPS camp created. We have the support of the party cadre. We are sure we will get the two-leaves symbol,” Panneerselvam, fondly called OPS, said on Monday.

Last few weeks saw no visible progress in the proposed talks between the panels set up by the respective factions. The OPS panel, called the Puratchi Thalaivi Amma camp, was led by KP Munusamy, while EPS’s AIADMK (Amma) panel was headed by R Vaithilingam.

ALSO READ | Panneerselvam Dissolves Panel Formed to Broker Merger of AIADMK Factions

Though both sides publicly announced their willingness to hold talks, the Panneerselvam faction remained firm on its demand for a CBI probe into the death of Jayalalithaa and the removal of AIADMK chief VK Sasikala and her family members, including Deputy General Secretary TTV Dinakaran, from the party as a precondition for talks.

None of the demands had been met, though a section of ministers revolted against Dinakaran in April, asking him to stay away from party affairs. He had also announced then that he was stepping aside.

However, he had recently, upon release on bail in the Election Commission bribery case, said he would continue with party work.

On Sunday, Panneerselvam took a dig at the Palaniswami camp, saying MLAs were gifted "gold, diamond and cash" during their stay at a resort at Koovathur near here, prior to the February 18 trust vote faced and won by Palaniswami.

Panneerselvam had revolted against Sasikala in February, alleging he was forced to make way for her elevation as chief minister. He later led the breakaway faction of some MPs and MLAs besides senior functionaries.

The faction has since challenged the election of Sasikala as AIADMK general secretary before the Election Commission, while also staking claim for the party's two leaves symbol.

Sasikala is currently lodged in a Bengaluru jail in a disproportionate assets case.

(With PTI inputs)

Read full article
Next Story

Live TV

File is:/article-scroll-new.php