Be a responsible citizen. Come, pledge to always check and share verified and vetted news.
1-min read

Buddhadeb has no house, car; just Rs 5,000 cash

News18test sharma |

Updated: April 5, 2011, 2:14 PM IST
facebook Twitter google skype whatsapp
Buddhadeb has no house, car; just Rs 5,000 cash
Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee owns no house or vehicle, resides in a rented flat and has only Rs 5,000 cash in hand.

Kolkata: West Bengal Chief Minister Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee owns no house or vehicle, resides in a rented government flat and has only Rs.5,000 cash in hand. In affidavits submitted to the Election Commission while filing nomination as a Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPM) candidate from Jadavpur, Bhattacharjee said he has no immovable property including farm land, non-agricultural land, and commercial or residential building in his own name nor has he inherited any property.

Bhattacharjee, 67, has said he has no bank deposits, investment, jewellery or any other assets other than Rs.5,000 cash in hand. His wife, however, has movable property worth over Rs.31 lakh - which includes bank deposits, jewellery and investments.

However, his wife Mira Bhattacharjee owns a residential building in New Town area of the city, currently valued at Rs.15 lakh. The income details of Bhattacharjee and his wife given in the affidavits showed Rs.100,920 and Rs.670,135 respectively for 2009-10.

The affidavits also mentioned that the chief minister was neither accused nor convicted of any offence. Bhattacharjee is an alumni of the Presidency College, with a honours degree in Bengali.

The Chief Minister, who is seeking re-election from the constituency, is pitted against Trinamool Congress candidate and former chief secretary of the state Manish Gupta. Bhattacharjee was accompanied by his election agent and former mayor of Kolkata Municipal Corporation Bikas Ranjan Bhattacharya and South 24-Parganas district CPM secretary and former MP Sujan Chakraborty.

Notification for filing of nominations for the third phase of elections involving 75 constituencies in Kolkata, North-24 Parganas and South-Parganas districts was issued on April 2. The last date for filing of nominations is April 9. Scrutiny of nominations will be done on April 11 and the last date for the withdrawal of candidature is on April 13.

First Published: April 5, 2011, 2:14 PM IST
Read full article
Next Story
facebook Twitter google skype whatsapp