GET Stock QuotesNews18 APP
News18 English

Assembly Election LIVE Results

  • LOST

    Shaktisinh Gohil

    INC (Mandvi)
  • WON

    Jignesh Mevani

    IND (Vadgam (SC)
  • WON

    Alpesh Thakor

    INC (Radhanpur)
  • WON

    Nitinbhai Patel

    BJP (Mahesana)
  • WON

    Hitu Kanodiya

    BJP (Idar (SC)
  • WON

    Pradipsinh Jadeja

    BJP (Vatva)
  • LOST

    Babubhai Mangukiya

    INC (Thakkarbapa Nagar)
  • WON

    Himmatsinh Patel

    INC (Bapunagar)
  • WON

    Bhupendrasinh Chudasama

    BJP (Dholka)
  • WON

    Somabhai Patel

    INC (Limbdi)
  • LOST

    Indranil Rajguru

    INC (Rajkot West)
  • WON

    Vijay Rupani

    BJP (Rajkot West)
  • WON

    Jayesh Radadiya

    BJP (Jetpur)
  • WON

    Lalit Vasoya

    INC (Dhoraji)
  • LOST

    Raghavjibhai Patel

    BJP (Jamnagar Rural)
  • WON

    Hakubha Jadeja

    BJP (Jamnagar North)
  • LOST

    Arjun Modhwadia

    INC (Porbandar)
  • WON

    Paresh Dhanani

    INC (Amreli)
  • WON

    Purshottam Solanki

    BJP (Bhavnagar Rural)
  • WON

    Jitu Vaghan

    BJP (Bhavnagar West)
  • WON

    Saurabh Patel

    BJP (Botad)
  • LOST

    Ramsinh Parmar

    BJP (Thasra)
  • WON

    CK Raulji

    BJP (Godhra)
  • WON

    Mohansinh Rathava

    INC (Chhota Udaipur (ST)
  • LOST

    Siddharth Patel

    INC (Dabhoi)
  • WON

    Manisha Vakil

    BJP (Vadodara City (SC)
  • WON

    Rajendra Trivedi

    BJP (Raopura)
  • WON

    Mahesh Vasava

    BTP (Dediapada (ST)
  • WON

    Chhotubhai Vasava

    BTP (Jhagadia (ST)
  • LOST

    Tusharbhai Chaudhari

    INC (Mahuva (ST)
  • LOST

    Thakur Singh Bharmouri

    INC (Bharmour (ST)
  • WON

    Asha Kumari

    INC (Dalhousie)

    GS Bali

    INC (Nagrota)
  • LOST

    Sudhir Sharma

    INC (Dharamshala)
  • LOST

    Indu Goswami

    BJP (Palampur)
  • WON

    Jai Ram Thakur

    BJP (Seraj)
  • WON

    Anil Sharma

    BJP (Mandi)
  • LOST

    Champa Thakur

    INC (Mandi)
  • LOST

    Prem Kumar Dhumal

    BJP (Sujanpur)
  • LOST

    Satpal Singh Satti

    BJP (Una)
  • WON

    Virbhadra Singh

    INC (Arki)
  • WON

    Suresh Bhardwaj

    BJP (Shimla)
  • WON

    Vikramaditya Singh

    INC (Shimla Rural)
  • WON

    Narinder Bragta

    BJP (Jubbal Kotkhai)
2-min read

Dinakaran Faction Says He is not Seeking Tamil Nadu CM Post

Earlier, Sasikala's Mannargudi-based brother V Divakaran had also backed Dhanapal to become the Chief Minister, with Dhinakaran leading the charge against Palaniswami.

Updated:August 24, 2017, 5:11 PM IST
Dinakaran Faction Says He is not Seeking Tamil Nadu CM Post
File photo of TTV Dinakaran. (PTI)
Chennai/Puducherry: Pressing for the ouster of Tamil Nadu chief minister E Palaniswami and his deputy Panneerselvam, the TTV Dinakaran-led camp in AIADMK in ruling AIADMK on Thursday, however, said that he didn't seek the top post.

P Vetrivel, loyalist of jailed AIADMK chief VK Sasikala and her nephew Dinakaran, told reporters in Chennai that candidature of any other person, including Speaker P Dhanapal, for the CM's post was agreeable to them.

In neighbouring Puducherry, the 18 MLAs loyal to Dinakaran stayed put at a resort amid tight security.

"He (Dhinakaran) is not even an MLA. He doesn't desire to be chief minister. He is not running the party with any such intentions," Vetrivel told reporters outside the residence of Dhinakaran.

Earlier, Sasikala's Mannargudi-based brother V Divakaran had also backed Dhanapal to become the Chief Minister, with Dhinakaran leading the charge against Palaniswami.

To a question, Vetrivel said the demand of his camp was to remove Palaniswami and his deputy O Panneerselvam.

The Dhinakaran camp had revolted a day after the factions led by Palaniswami and O Panneerselvam patched-up.

Vetrivel also said some "corrupt ministers" should "get out".

"Chief minister and corrupt ministers, get out," he said without naming anyone.

Training his guns on Panneerselvam, the legislator said he had levelled corruption charges against the government and took the fight for AIADMK's two leaves symbol to the Election Commission, and wondered why he was now part of the cabinet.

Vetrivel sought an "explanation" from Palaniswami for the merger of his Amma faction with that of Panneerselvam.

To a question, he indicated the Dhinakaran faction had no intention of pulling down the AIADMK government.

"We have said nowhere that we will vote against this government. Change the chief minister and explain the reason behind Panneerselvam's induction," he said.

Vetrivel claimed some more MLAs and ministers were in talks with the Dhinakaran faction but declined to reveal names.

Earlier in the day, Dhinakaran supporters burnt posters of Rajya Sabha MP R Vaithilingam, recently 'expelled' by Dhinakaran from the party, besides that of Puducherry unit of unified AIADMK, Om Sakthi Segar.

Segar had yesterday led a protest outside the resort in Puducherry where Dhinakaran camp MLAs are staying.

Also, supporters of Vaithilingam had clashed with those of Dhinakaran in Thanjavur recently.

Meanwhile, police was deployed in strength outside the resort, where the 18 MLAs from Dhinakaran camp are staying, in the coastal village of Chinna Veerampattinam in Ariyankuppam commune Panchayat limits near here.

Some of the legislators who spoke to the media while taking a walk pointed out that they were all enjoying a "free atmosphere" and were "united".

Andipatti MLA Thangatamilselvan of the Dhinakaran faction, said "there is a wrong image about us being projected in a section of tshe media. The fact is that we are all here to project the correct picture that we all remain united," he said.

Iron barricades were placed across the entry point on the side lane leading to the resort to restrict visitors.

Meanwhile, Perundurai AIADMK MLA and former Minister Thopu D Venkatachalam, originally a supporter of Dhinakaran, said he now "continues to be in the AIADMK".

Speaking to reporters, he urged Palaniswami to hold consultations with all stakeholders to end the impasse.

(With PTI inputs)
Read full article
Next Story

Live TV

File is:/article-scroll-new.php