Be a responsible citizen. Come, pledge to always check and share verified and vetted news.
1-min read

Ex-insurgents, crorepatis contest Assam polls

News18test sharma |

Updated: March 26, 2011, 11:26 AM IST
facebook Twitter google skype whatsapp
Ex-insurgents, crorepatis contest Assam polls
Former ULFA insurgents and crorepatis like CM Tarun Gogoi fighting it out in the Assam poll.

Guwahati: The coming Assembly elections in Assam will see an array of former ULFA insurgents and 'crorepatis' like Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi fighting it out in the first phase poll on April 4.

The former ULFA leaders include two militants who won as independents in the last election and three other surrendered leaders of the banned outfit.

The two independent legislators contesting for the third time are Jiten Gogoi and Kushal Duwori from Bokakhat and Thowra constituencies respectively. They are former ULFA leaders who have surrendered before the government.

The three others are also former ULFA leaders who surrendered before the government 10 years ago.

The ULFA leaders trying out their electoral fortunes include Suresh Bora as Congress candidate from Barhampur, Prafulla Bora alias Dhekial Phukan as NCP contestant from Bihpuria and Jayanta Khound, fighting independently from

Suresh Bora told the media that his former ULFA connection would not affect his electoral prospect as he had come to the mainstream and was given a Congress ticket to contest.

At least six 'crorepatis' will also fight the election which included Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi, a Congress nominee, and one of the Asom Gana Parishad.

As per the affidavit filed along with the nomination papers, Tarun Gogoi has immovable property worth Rs 3.65 crore and movable assets of Rs 35 lakh, totaling Rs 4 crore.

Among the crorepatis, Congress sitting MLA Rahul Roy and the son of excise and social welfare Minister Gautam Roy, for Algapur constituency has movable and immovable property worth Rs 8.2 crore.

Opposition AGP's Sootea nominee and sitting legislator Padma Hazarika comes second in the list of crorepatis with Rs 3.22 crore in both moveable and immovable assets, according to the affidavit.

Culture and Sports Minister Bharat Narah for Dhakuwakhana comes next with Rs 2.46 crore, law and handloom minister Pranab Gogoi for Sibsagar with Rs 1.87 crore, PWD minister Ajanta Neog for Golaghat with Rs 1.5 crore and Gautam Roy for Katlicherra with Rs 1.14 crore, as per their affidavits.

In the first phase, 62 of the 126 assembly constituencies would go to the polls with 482 hopefuls trying their electoral fortunes.

First Published: March 26, 2011, 11:26 AM IST
Read full article
Next Story
facebook Twitter google skype whatsapp