Live TVLive TV
1-min read

Meghalaya: INC wins 12 seats, UDP wins 3 seats


First published: February 28, 2013, 8:00 AM IST | Updated: February 28, 2013
facebook Twitter google skype whatsapp
Meghalaya: INC wins 12 seats, UDP wins 3 seats
In Meghalaya, both the ruling Congress and non-Congress parties are confident of winning the elections.

Shillong: Counting of votes for 60 Assembly seats of Meghalaya, polling for which was held on February 23, began at 8.00 am on Thursday amidst tight security. INC wins 12 seats, Others wins three seats and UDP wins 5 seats. INC is leading in 24 seats, UDP is leading in 4 seats, Hill State People's Democratic Party is leading in 4 seats and Others lead in 5. Hopingstone Lyngdoh of Hill State People's Democratic Party is leading from Ngstoin constituency in over his nearest rival from the Indian National Congress Adviser Pariong.

"Counting will continue till all results are announced, hopefully before noon," Chief Electoral Officer P Naik said. The CEO has already directed the district-level officers to ensure fool proof security in and around counting centres. He said 100 metre periphery of all the 13 counting centres in the state have been declared no-vehicle zone.

Prominent leaders among the total 345 candidates whose fate would be decided today are HSPDP President Hopingstone Lyngdoh, who had never lost a single elections since Meghalaya attained statehood in 1972, besides four former Chief Ministers, including Mukul Sangma of the outgoing house.

The three other Chief Ministers are DD Lapang, who is also the state Congress President, SC Marak and United Democratic Party Chief Donkupar Roy. Other prominent candidates are Mukul Sangma's wife DD Shira, National Peoples Party chief and former Speaker PA Sangma's two sons, Conrad and James.

facebook Twitter google skype whatsapp