GET Stock QuotesNews18 APP
News18 English

UEFA Champions League Draw: Madrid, Spurs, Dortmund in Group of Death | August 24, 2017, 10:42 PM IST
facebook Twitter google skype
Neymar will be denied an immediate return to Barcelona when the Champions League draw is made in Monaco on Thursday. Both his Paris Saint-Germain team and the Catalan giants he left earlier this month for a world record 222 million euros ($264m) have been placed in pot two — amongst the second seeds.

Reigning champions and Spanish title-holders Real Madrid head the pot of top seeds -- the champions from the eight highest-ranked countries in the UEFA rankings.

England's Chelsea, Germans Bayern Munich, Monaco of France's Ligue 1, Portuguese giants Benfica, Serie A champions Juventus, Russians Spartak Moscow and Shakhtar Donetsk of Ukraine make up the rest of pot one.
Aug 24, 2017 10:27 pm (IST)
Aug 24, 2017 10:26 pm (IST)

 Gp A - Benfica, Man Utd, Basel, CSKA Moscow

Gp B - Bayern Munich, PSG, Anderlecht, Celtic

 Gp C - Chelsea, Atletico Madrid, Roma, Qarabag

Gp D - Juventus, Barcelona, Olympiakos, Sporting Lisbon

Gp E - Spartak Moscow, Sevilla, Liverpool, Maribor

Gp F - Shakhtar Donetsk, Manchester City, Napoli, Feyenoord

Gp G - Monaco, Porto, Besiktas, Leipzig

Gp H - Real Madrid, Borussia Dortmund, Tottenham, Apoel

Aug 24, 2017 10:24 pm (IST)

Maribor join Liverpool, Sevilla and Spartak Moscow in Group E

Aug 24, 2017 10:23 pm (IST)

That means Apoel Nicosia is the final team to join Real Madrid, Dortmund, Spurs in the group of death!

Aug 24, 2017 10:22 pm (IST)

CSKA Moscow join Man United, Benfica, Basel in Group A

Aug 24, 2017 10:20 pm (IST)

Chelsea’s Group C gets Qarabag, a rather tough start for the new comers with Chelsea, Roma and Atletico Madrid!

Aug 24, 2017 10:20 pm (IST)

Sporting join Barcelona, Juventus and Olympiakos..

Aug 24, 2017 10:19 pm (IST)

Feyonord join Group F with Shakhtar, City and Napoli..

Aug 24, 2017 10:17 pm (IST)
Aug 24, 2017 10:17 pm (IST)
Aug 24, 2017 10:17 pm (IST)

Leipzig are the first team out in Pot 4, and go to Group G to join Monaco, Porto and Besiktas..

Aug 24, 2017 10:15 pm (IST)
Aug 24, 2017 10:15 pm (IST)

Two Groups certainly stand out so far, Chelsea, Atletico Madrid and Roma in Group C, and Madrid, Dortmund and Spurs in Group H!

Aug 24, 2017 10:14 pm (IST)

Napoli join Man City and Shakhtar Donetsk in Group F..

Aug 24, 2017 10:13 pm (IST)

Olympiakos go to Group D, and join Juventus and Barcelona..

Aug 24, 2017 10:12 pm (IST)

Next up is Spurs, and they join Group H with Real Madrid and Dortmund..

Aug 24, 2017 10:11 pm (IST)

Next up is 5-times winner Liverpool, and join Group E with Sevilla and Spartak Moskova

Aug 24, 2017 10:11 pm (IST)

Roma is the next team in, and they join Chelsea, Atletico Madrid in Group C..

Aug 24, 2017 10:10 pm (IST)

Next up is Besiktas, the champions of Turkey, they join Monaco and Porto in Group G

Aug 24, 2017 10:09 pm (IST)

Next up is FC Basel, and they join Group A with Man Utd and Benfica

Aug 24, 2017 10:09 pm (IST)

Anderlecht are the first team in Pot 3, and they go to Group B joining PSG and Bayern Munich.

Aug 24, 2017 10:08 pm (IST)
Aug 24, 2017 10:07 pm (IST)

The groups are as follow: Group A Benfica, Man Utd, Group B-Bayern, PSG, Group C Chelsea, Atletico, Group D Juventus, Bayern, Group E- Spartak Moscow, Sevilla, Group F- Donestsk, Man City, Group G Monaco, Porto, Group H- Real Madrid, Dortumund

Aug 24, 2017 10:04 pm (IST)

Barcelona join Juventus in Group D..

Aug 24, 2017 10:04 pm (IST)

Borussia Dortmund join Real Madrid in Group H...

Aug 24, 2017 10:04 pm (IST)

Sevilla in Group E, join Spartak Moskova..

Aug 24, 2017 10:03 pm (IST)

Manchester City are the next team in Pot 2, and they join Shakhtar Donestsk in Group F

Aug 24, 2017 10:01 pm (IST)

Next up is Atletico Madrid, and they join Chelsea in Group C, that's a rather interesting group now.

Aug 24, 2017 10:00 pm (IST)

Paris SG join Bayern Munich in Group B..

Aug 24, 2017 10:00 pm (IST)

1st team in Pot 2 are FC Porto, and they join Monaco in Group G

Load More
  • 21 Feb, 2018 | Trans-Tasman T20I Tri-Series
    NZ vs AUS
    20.0 overs
    14.4 overs
    Australia beat New Zealand by 19 runs (D/L method)
  • 21 Feb, 2018 | India in South Africa
    IND vs SA
    20.0 overs
    18.4 overs
    South Africa beat India by 6 wickets
  • 19 Feb, 2018 | Zimbabwe and Afghanistan in UAE
    AFG vs ZIM
    50.0 overs
    32.1 overs
    Afghanistan beat Zimbabwe by 146 runs
  • 18 Feb, 2018 | India in South Africa
    IND vs SA
    20.0 overs
    20.0 overs
    India beat South Africa by 28 runs
  • 18 Feb, 2018 | Sri Lanka in Bangladesh
    SL vs BAN
    20.0 overs
    18.4 overs
    Sri Lanka beat Bangladesh by 75 runs