follow us on
reach us on app store
Switch Language

Sorab (Gen)

Refresh DataRefresh
Live Status BJP S.Kumara Bangarappa Won
(Live status depicts real-time status and might not match with the detailed figures below.)

116. Sorab (Gen) is a State Assembly/Vidhan Sabha constituency in the Shimoga district and Central Karnataka region of Karnataka and is a part of the Shimoga Parliamentary/Lok Sabha constituency.

There are a total of 1,82,035 voters in the constituency that include general voters, NRI voters and service voters. Amongst the general voters 92,764 are male, 89,227 female and 11 others. The electorate sex ratio in the constituency is 96.15 and the approximate literacy rate is 79%

JDS won this seat in the 2013 Karnataka Assembly Elections with a margin of 21,225 votes (15.04%) securing 41.47% of the total votes polled. In 2013 the seat witnessed a voter turnout of 82.07%.

BJP won this seat in the 2008 Assembly Elections with a margin of 21,053 votes (17.05%) registering 43.36% of the votes polled. In 2018 elections this seat witnessed a voter turnout of 84.14%.

Check the table below for Sorab live results in the Karnataka Assembly elections 2018:

The detailed votes polled figures could be a little delayed and might not match with the live status above


Party Votes Polled % Votes Candidate Name
JD(S) 58,54141.47%S. Madhu Bangarappa WON
KJP 37,31626.44%H. Halappa
INC 33,17623.5%S. Kumara Bangarappa
BJP 5,2263.7%Chikkavali Nagarajagowda
IND 1,5141.07%H. Bheemappa
IND 1,3430.95%Basavanyappa
IND 1,0810.77%K. Gurumurthy
BSRCP 1,0260.73%B. Chandrappagowda
JD(U) 9400.67%K. S. Satyanarayana
BSP 5120.36%Guddappa
IND 4840.34%J. S. Chidanandagowda


Party Votes Polled % Votes Candidate Name
BJP 53,55243.36%H. Halappa WON
INC 32,49926.31%S. Kumara Bangarappa
SP 31,13525.21%S. Madhu Bangarappa
IND 2,5882.1%A. R. Shivalinga Swamy
IND 1,0410.84%V. G. Parashurama
JD(S) 9810.79%Suresh Wodiyar
BSP 9590.78%Kotresh M. E.
JD(U) 7530.61%K. S. Satyanarayana

Leads 2014 Lok Sabha Elections*

Party Votes Polled % Votes Candidate Name
BJP 72,49952.77%B. S. Yeddyurappa WON
JD(S) 41,55430.24%Geetha Shivarajkumar
INC 18,81313.69%Manjunath Bhandary
AAAP 1,0370.75%K. G. Sreedhar
KAP 7860.57%B. K. Shashi Kumar
BSP 6520.47%Kunaje Manjunatha Gowda
JD(U) 6030.44%B. Dharmappa
IND 3890.28%H. Suresha Poojari
IND 2730.2%Shrilatha Shetty
IND 2540.18%S. Satish Salian
IND 2240.16%Anil. M. R
IND 1610.12%Mainuddin M. S.
SJPA 1540.11%Fayaz Ahamed Alias Mohamad Fayaz Ahamed
*Candidates leading in this particular Assembly segment of the corresponding Parliamentary constituency in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections. Note that the Lok Sabha winner might be different from the Assembly segment leader.

Latest Karnataka Election News

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results