Switch Language

Karnataka Elections 2018: Election Trivia

Often it is the small facts that are the most interesting. For this 2018 Assembly elections in Karnataka, we attempt to dig out interesting and little known facts related to the politics and elections in the state. Scroll down to know and don’t forget to share with your friends about your #TIL moment (for the uninitiated, #TIL stands for Today I Learned)

  • Trivia#28
    Hoskote Assembly constituency recorded the highest voter turnout of 88.92% in the 2018 Karnataka Elections while Hebbal recorded the lowest at 37.6%. Both constituencies are only about 22 kilometres apart. May 13, 2018, 04:15 PM
  • Trivia#27
    Priya Krishna, sitting Congress MLA from Govindarajnagar, is the richest candidate with total declared assets of Rs 1020 crore. He also has the highest liabilities among all candidates at Rs 802 crore. May 07, 2018, 05:46 PM
  • Trivia#26
    The three richest candidates contesting in the 2018 elections are all from Congress. May 07, 2018, 05:42 PM
  • Trivia#25
    Bangalore South is the largest Assembly constituency in Karnataka with an electorate of over 5.81 lakh. It has three-and-a-half-times more voters than the smallest constituency, Sringeri. May 05, 2018, 03:50 PM
  • Trivia#24
    Of the 224 constituencies in Karnataka, 61 constituencies have more female voters than male voters. May 05, 2018, 03:32 PM
  • Trivia#23
    The least number of candidates (4) are in two constituencies - Sedam in Hyderabad Karnataka and Challakere in Central Karnataka. May 04, 2018, 10:04 AM
  • Trivia#22
    The maximum number of candidates (39) are contesting from Mulbagal (SC) constituency in Southern Karnataka. Mulbagal is one of the two seats in Karnataka that the Congress isn't contesting in. May 04, 2018, 09:58 AM
  • Trivia#21
    There have been 10 instances in the history of Karnataka Assembly elections that a candidate won uncontested - in 6 seats in 1957, 2 seats in 1962 and 2 seats in 1967. May 02, 2018, 02:17 PM
  • Trivia#20
    In the closest contest, Dhruvanarayana R of Congress defeated Krishna Murthy AR of JD(S) by 1 vote in the Santhemarahalli seat in 2004. Interestingly there were 2 more Krishna Murthys contesting, ostensibly to confuse voters. May 02, 2018, 02:14 PM
  • Trivia#19
    With 6,90,363 voters in the 2004 elections Uttarahalli constituency had the most number of voters in any Assembly constituency in the history of Karnataka elections. May 02, 2018, 02:06 PM
  • Trivia#17
    R Ashoka of BJP polled the highest number of votes in any Karnataka Assembly election. Ashoka secured 2,30,914 votes in the Uttarahalli constituency in 1999. May 02, 2018, 02:01 PM
  • Trivia#16
    In 1957, two candidates Jamadanda Sarvesh contesting from Sedam and Manjappa Ullal contesting from Karkal, secured 0 votes. This implies that they didn't even get their own vote. May 02, 2018, 01:46 PM
  • Trivia#15
    301 candidates contested for the Belgaum seat in 1985 (second only to the record of 1033 in Modakkurichi, Tamil Nadu in 1996). 49 candidates were women. A record for the maximum number of women candidates in any Assembly seat. May 02, 2018, 01:01 PM
  • Trivia#14
    Congress' best performance in Karnataka was in 1989 when it won 178 of the 224 seats and its worst was in the following election in 1994 when the party was reduced to 34 seats. May 02, 2018, 12:45 PM
  • Trivia#13
    In the 2008 Karnataka Assembly elections, BJP won 110 seats with 33.86% of votes, while Congress polled 34.76% of the total votes but got only 80 seats. May 02, 2018, 12:40 PM
  • Trivia#12
    Congress has never won the Khanapur Assembly seat in Belgaum district. Independents have won the seat 8 times out of the 13 elections held. BJP won it in 2008 and the Maharashtra Ekikaran Samiti back in 1962. May 02, 2018, 12:37 PM
  • Trivia#11
    The Kolar Gold Fields seat in Southern Karnataka is among the most eclectic. In the 12 elections held for the constituency, as many as 8 different parties have won the seat, but JD(S) hasn't yet managed to secure a win there. May 02, 2018, 11:58 AM
  • Trivia#10
    No party has been able to retain the Heggadadevankote Assembly seat in Mysore district of Karnataka in all 12 elections the seat has witnessed since 1962. May 02, 2018, 10:14 AM
  • Trivia#9
    BJP is contesting in all 224 seats in the Karnataka Assembly elections 2018, Congress has put up its candidates in 222, JD(S) is fighting in 201 while debutant All India Mahila Empowerment Party has put up candidates in 174 seats. May 02, 2018, 09:57 AM
  • Trivia#8
    87-year-old Kagodu Thimmappa is the oldest candidate contesting in the Karnataka Assembly elections 2018. Thimmappa is contesting on a Congress ticket from 117 Sagar constituency. May 01, 2018, 11:22 PM
  • Trivia#7
    The BJP hasn't lost the Sullia (SC) seat in Dakshina Kannada district for the last five consecutive Assembly elections since 1994. Sullia was one of the 18 seats that BJP had opened its Karnataka account with in 1983. April 26, 2018, 04:53 PM
  • Trivia#6
    Congress has been winning in the Gurmitkal seat in Yadgir district for the last 11 Assembly elections since 1967. In the 1962 elections the seat was won by Swatantra Party founded by C Rajagopalachari. April 26, 2018, 01:11 PM
  • Trivia#5
    The biggest margin of victory in percentage terms in the 2013 elections was 51.48% by BJP's Balachandra Laxmanrao Jarkiholi over Congress' Utagi Ramappa Kareppa. April 26, 2018, 12:59 PM
  • Trivia#4
    The biggest margin of victory in the 2013 elections was 76,588 votes secured by Prakash Babanna Hukkeri of Congress against the BJP candidate Basavanni Rudrappa Sangappagol. April 26, 2018, 12:59 PM
  • Trivia#3
    In 2013, there were 23 candidates aged 25 contesting in Karnataka. 25 is the minimum age for contesting in an Assembly election. April 25, 2018, 04:48 PM
  • Trivia#2
    Congress candidate Prakash Babanna Hukkeri from Chikkodi-Sadalga constituency received the highest percentage of votes (68.44%) in any seat in the 2013 Karnataka elections. April 25, 2018, 04:47 PM
  • Trivia#1
    Independent candidate Narsappa (85) was the oldest amongst all contesting candidates in the 2013 Karnataka elections. April 25, 2018, 04:15 PM