follow us on
reach us on app store

Chengannur(By election result 2018 live)

Refresh DataRefresh

110 Chengannur is one of the 140 Assembly seats in Kerala. Chengannur is located in the Alappuzha district of the state. The first elections in this seat was held back in 1957. Check the table below for the list of contesting candidates and live results of the 2018 Chengannur by-election.

By-election in Chengannur was necessitated because of the death of CPI(M) MLA KK Ramchandran Nair. Chengannur is part of Mavelikara Parliamentary constituency.

In the 15 Assembly elections held for this seat, Congress has won it six times, including 5-times in a row and CPI(M) has won it four times.

Voting for the seat took place on May 28, 2018 and counting/results on May 31, 2018.

Bypolls in this Central Kerala constituency is keenly watched by the ruling LDF, opposition UDF and NDA as its outcome is crucial to all three as the Lok Sabha elections are hardly a year away. It is rare to see a tough triangular fight among LDF, UDF and NDA in Kerala, which is known for its decades-long bipolar politics.

Winning the seat is significant for the Congress also as it is an opportunity for them to wrest its traditional constituency back from arch rival CPI(M).

While CPI(M)'s Saji Cheriyan, the party's Alappuzha district secretary, is the candidate of the Left Democratic Front (LDF), Congress leader D Vijayakumar is the United Democratic Front (UDF) nominee. Former BJP president P S Sreedharan Pillai is testing his luck once again from the constituency.

(Get LIVE by-election results of ALL the seats here)


PartyVotes PolledCandidate NameStatus
INC 46347 D VijayakumarLost
BJP 35270 P S Sreedharan PillaiLost
CPM 67303 Saji CheriyanWon
RLD -- Jiji PunthalaLost
SUCIC -- Madhu ChengannurLost
AAP -- Rajeev PallathuLost
API -- Subhash NagaLost
IND -- Aji M ChalakeriLost
IND -- Unni KarthikeyanLost
IND -- M C JayalalLost
IND -- Murali NagaLost
IND -- Mohanan AcharyLost
IND -- Sivaprasad Gandhi K MLost
IND -- Sreedharan PillaiLost
IND -- A K ShajiLost
IND -- Somanatha Warrier T KLost
IND -- Swami Sukhakash SaraswathyLost

Results 2016

PartyVotes PolledCandidate Name
CPM 52880Adv K K Ramachandran Nair Won
INC 44897P C Vishnunath
BJP 42682Adv P S Sreedharan Pillai
IND 3966Sobhana George
BSP 483Alex
NOTA 363None Of The Above
IND 247E T Sasi

Results 2011

PartyVotes PolledCandidate Name
INC 65156P C Vishnunath Won
CPM 52656Adv C S Sujatha
BJP 6062B Radhakrishna Menon
IND 848Surendran Karippuzha
SUCI 623V Venugopal

Latest By-Election News