CricketNext GET APP
Indian T20 Carnival Associate Sponsors

14th January 2009: Mumbai Edge Past Karnataka to Win 39th Ranji Title

Cricketnext | Updated: January 14, 2018, 5:34 PM IST
14th January 2009: Mumbai Edge Past Karnataka to Win 39th Ranji Title

(Getty Images)

New Delhi: There are not many takers for domestic cricket in India, but Ranji Trophy is one of the most competitive domestic leagues across the world. Way back in 2009, Mumbai won it's 39th Ranji title and beat Karnataka in the finals. The match was a very close affair, as in the end Karnataka fell short by six runs.

It all started with Mumbai being restricted to 233 in the first innings with Vinay Kumar and Abhimanyu Mithun picking seven wickets together. In reply, Karnataka had a disastrous outing with the bat as they could only put 130 runs on the board. Avishkar Salvi starred for Mumbai with five wickets.

In the third innings Karnataka managed to strike back through some fiery bowling by Mithun, who took six wickets this time round. Having been set a target of 338, Karnataka got a great start and were on course to chase the target, and were 255/3 at one point of time. Youngster Manish Pandey scored a brilliant 144 runs. But after his departure, there was no resistance shown by other batsmen. Karnataka's last five wickets fell for 71 runs only.

Also Watch

First Published: January 14, 2018, 5:33 PM IST

Live TV

Team Rankings

1 India 5313 121
2 South Africa 5154 117
3 New Zealand 3886 102
4 Australia 4599 102
5 England 5029 97
FULL Ranking