Get the app

As it happened: India A vs West Indies A, 3rd Unofficial Test, Day 1

Abhishek Nayar claimed four wickets while Dhawal Kulkarni took three as India A bundled out West Indies A for 268 and reached 10 for 0 at stumps.

Cricketnext Staff |Cricketnext |October 9, 2013, 9:13 AM IST
As it happened: India A vs West Indies A, 3rd Unofficial Test, Day 1

India A innings:

End of over 5, India A 10 for 0: India A reached 10 for 0 at stumps on day 1, with Gautam Gambhir and VA Jagadeesh safely negotiating the five-over period.

West Indies A, 1st innings:

End of over 77.4, WI A all out for 268: Abhishek Nayar claimed four wickets while Dhawal Kulkarni took three as India A bundled out West Indies A for 268. Leon Johnson was the top scorer for the visitors with his 81.

End of over 73, WI A 252 for 7: India A firmly in control now as Kulkarni removes Fudadin (47) as well.

End of over 71, WI A 244 for 6: This is turning out to be entirely India's session. Another wicket falls as Dhawal Kulkarni sends back Jahmar Hamilton (15).

End of over 65, WI A 214 for 5: Ishwar Pandey's joins in to further hurt the hosts in the final session. He takes care of Jonathan Carter (17) to deliver the fifth blow.

End of over 58, WI A 191 for 4: After removing Deonarine, Nayar struck again to take out the dangerous Leon Johnson (81) to give a double jolt to the visitor's innings on day one.

End of over 42, WI A 133 for 3: Narsingh Deonarine fell for 35 to end 70-run stand with Leon Johnson. However, Johnson has moved steadily to 61 and looking good for the three-figure score.

End of over 34, WI A 101 for 2: Leon Johnson and Narsingh Deonarine grafted at the crease to revive West Indies A from a shaky start.

End of over 25, WI A 78 for 2 (lunch): After the wickets of Kieran Powell and Kraigg Brathwaite, West Indies A innings was steadied by Leon Johnson (34) and Narsingh Deonarine (10) at the end of first session's play.

End of over 20, WI A 56 for 2: Dhawal Kulkarni got the big wicket as he bowled Kieran Powell for 21. After put in to bat the visitors have been sedate in their run-scoring.

End of over 14, WI A 27 for 1: After the fall of Kraigg Brathwaite's wicket, Kieran Powell along with Leon Johnson have steadied the innings. India A are yet to bring on spin.

End of over 9, WI A 15 for 1: Zaheer Khan gave India A their first breakthrough by dismissing Kraigg Brathwaite for 1 caught behind by Udal Kaul.

Toss: India A have won the toss and opted to bowl.

Playing XIs:

India A: Cheteshwar Pujara, Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Abhinav Mukund, VA Jagadeesh, Paras Dogra, Uday Kaul, Dhawal Kulkarni, Zaheer Khan, Bhargav Bhatt, Ishwar Pandey

West Indies A: Kieron Powell, Kraigg Brathwaite, Leon Johnson, Narsingh Deonarine, Asaad Fudadin, Jonathan Carter, Jahmar Hamilton, Nikita Miller, Ashley Nurse, Delorn Johnson, Miguel Cummins

It will be a litmus test for the out-of-favour batsmen - Virender Sehwag and Gautam Gambhir - as India A need nothing less than a victory to level the three-match series when they take on West Indies A in their third and final unofficial Test.

Having won the first match comprehensively, West Indies A drew the second game to lead the series 1-0 and the hosts would quickly need to make amends to get back to winning ways in a must-win encounter.

All eyes will be on Sehwag and Gambhir, both of whom require to shine with the bat in order to create a chance for themselves to make a comeback to the national side.

Team Rankings

Rank Team Points Rating
1 India 4027 115
2 New Zealand 2829 109
3 South Africa 2917 108
4 England 4366 104
5 Australia 3270 99
see more
Rank Team Points Rating
1 England 6745 125
2 India 7071 122
3 New Zealand 4837 112
4 Australia 5543 111
5 South Africa 5193 110
see more
Rank Team Points Rating
1 Pakistan 7365 283
2 England 4253 266
3 India 8411 263
4 Australia 5471 261
5 South Africa 4407 259
see more