CricketNext GET APP

Bangladesh call up uncapped spinner for Zimbabwe Test

AFP | Updated: October 19, 2014, 11:45 PM IST
Bangladesh call up uncapped spinner for Zimbabwe Test

Bangladesh on Sunday included uncapped leg-spinner Jubair Hossain in their 14-man squad for the first home Test match against Zimbabwe.

All-rounder Shakib Al Hasan returned to the Test side after he missed the West Indies tour in September because of suspension while batsman Marshall Ayub and medium pacer Shahadat Hossain have also been recalled.

Batsmen Anamaul Haque and Nasir Hossain, paceman Robiul Islam and left-arm spinner Elias Sunny have been dropped from the squad that toured the Caribbean.

Nineteen-year-old Jubair impressed in the Bangladesh A team against a visiting Zimbabwe A during a recent series when he claimed 11 wickets in two four-day matches.

Chief selector Faruque Ahmed said Jubair was given the nod as Bangladesh will miss the service of off-spinner Sohag Gazi, who was banned from bowling in international cricket for an illegal arm action.

"With Sohag Gazi not available due to suspension, we felt we needed a bit of variation in our bowling and that is why Jubair is in the squad," Faruque said in a statement.

"He is a bright young prospect and if he is to play then it is always good to start at home.

"He has the talent in a difficult art and gives the side an interesting option despite his inexperience."

Batsman Nasir was omitted from the Test squad for the first time since he made his debut against the West Indies in 2011.

However, Faruque backed the right-hander, who last scored a fifty in a Test match against Zimbabwe in April 2013, to return to form soon.

"Nasir Hossain has missed out due to a combination of lack of form and consistency. I am sure he will be back but we still have depth in batting."

The first Test will be held at Dhaka's Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium on October 25-29.

Zimbabwe will also two play more Tests and five one-day internationals during their six-week long tour.

Squad: Mushfiqur Rahim (Capt), Tamim Iqbal, Shakib Al Hasan, Shamsur Rahman, Mominul Haque, Rubel Hossain, Shuvagata Hom, Mohammad Mahmudullah, Shafiul Islam, Jubair Hossain, Shahadat Hossain, Marshall Ayub, Al-Amin Hossain and Taijul Islam.

Also Watch

First Published: October 19, 2014, 11:45 PM IST

Live TV

Team Rankings

1 India 5313 121
2 South Africa 4484 115
3 Australia 4174 104
4 New Zealand 3489 100
5 England 4829 99
FULL Ranking