Get the app

Bangladesh create history, beat India in ODI series

After a handsome 79-run win in the 1st ODI, the hosts went on to stun India in the 2nd ODI on Sunday by 6 wickets, which also helped them secure a Champions Trophy spot.

Subhasish Dutta |Cricketnext |March 29, 2016, 5:26 PM IST
Bangladesh create history, beat India in ODI series

Mirpur: History was created at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium on Sunday, sending 25,000 people on a home run in the holy month of Ramazan.

Left-arm pacer Mustafizur Rahman produced a scintillating bowling display as Bangladesh made history by defeating the visitors by six wickets in the rain-hit second one-day international (ODI) to gain an series-winning 2-0 lead in the three-match series at Mirpur and also book a place at next year's ICC Champions Trophy.

This is Bangladesh's first ever ODI series win over India.

The 19-year-old Rahman, who starred in the first ODI with a five-wicket haul, once again came out with flying colours as he cut through the Indian batting line-up with his 6 for 43 runs. Thereby, the left-arm pacer become only the second bowler after Zimbabwe's Brian Vittori to claim a five-for in his first two matches. But he is the only one to have taken 11 wickets in his first two ODIs.

India are now looking down the barrel at the prospect of a 3-0 series whitewash with the third and the last ODI scheduled on June 24 at the same venue.

The match was reduced to 47 overs after a two-hour rain delay with Bangladesh set a winning total of 200 under the Duckworth-Lewis calculation.

Chasing a comfortable target, Shakib Al Hasan slammed an unbeaten 62-ball 51 to power Bangladesh home in the 38th over. It was Shakib's 30th ODI fifty, laced with five fours. Sabbir Rahman remained unbeaten on 22 when the winning runs were scored.

Openers Tamim Iqbal and Soumya Sarkar took the hosts off to a steady start, cantering to 33 for 0 in five overs. However, Dhawal Kulkarni gave India the first breakthrough in the seventh over by picking up Tamim for 13.

Right-hander Soumya and Litton forged a half-century partnership to give Bangladesh the required momentum. But Das lost his concentration and played a lose shot giving a simple catch to Dhoni at 36.

But there was no reason for Bangladesh to worry as Mushfiqur Rahim and Shakib stitched another 54-run stand for the fourth wicket. Mushfiqur was run out for 31 trying to come back for a second run but was undone by Dhoni's quick work.

Ashwin was once again the pick of Indian bowlers with a spell of 10-2-32-1, with assistance coming only from Ravindra Jadeja who bowled seven overs for 28 runs but failed to produce any wickets.

The pacers once again continued to disappoint as Bhuvneshwar was taken for 32 runs in five overs while Dhawal Kulkarni, playing in place of Mohit Sharma, bowled a seven-over spell of 1 for 42.

Apart from Dhawal for Mohit, India made two other changes to the eleven - bringing in Axar Patel for Umesh Yadav and surprising everyone by dropping Ajinkya Rahane for Ambati Rayudu.

India yet again found no answer to deal with the teenager Rahman's lethal off-cutters and their batsmen were found wanting for majority of the match.

The visitors, after opting to bat, got off to an awful start, losing opener Rohit Sharma for a duck off the very second ball of the match.

Vice-captain Virat Kohli, who was desperately looking to get back into the scoring business after a series of poor scores, was adjudged lbw off Nasir Hossain for 23.

Kohli's dismissal saw captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni promoting himself to bat at number four with India at 74 for 2 in 12.3 overs. The skipper, who was also under a lot of criticism for his lean patch, tried to soak the pressure by forging a partnership with Shikhar Dhawan.

However, the stand didn't last long as Dhawan (53) was caught behind shortly after reaching his half-century while trying to step out, offering a sharp edge to wicketkeeper Das and giving offspinner Nasir Hossain his second wicket. Dhawan was once again guilty of throwing his wicket away after getting set.

Rayudu also couldn't make use of the opportunity as he was out for a golden duck with India reeling at 110 for 4 in 21.4 overs.

After Ruyudu's dismissal, Suresh Raina and Dhoni tried to rescue the sinking ship by forging a steady 50-run partnership before the southpaw gave his wicket to Rahman in the 36th over. Raina was once again done in by a short ball, trying to run down to the third man and giving an easy catch to Das behind the wickets for 34.

With wickets falling regularly at the other end, India's hopes were pinned on Dhoni but the captain also failed to live up to the expectations and fell in the 40th over.

Dhoni misjudged a cutter off Rahman and ended up lobbing the ball to short cover at 47.

Rahman, who now has 11 wickets in 2 matches, dismissed Patel for a golden duck off the second ball to claim his fourth victim of the match. Offspinner Ashwin also fell in quickly in the 42nd over.

Rain at Mirpur halted the play for two hours with India 196 for 8 in 43.5 overs. With the match reduced to 47 overs, Bangladesh needed just seven balls to wrap up the innings after the game re-started.

Rahman started from where he left and rattled Jadeja's stumps on their very first ball to claim his sixth wicket of the match and send the 25,000 crowd into wild celebrations. Bhuvneshwar (3) too fell in the next over to Rubel Hossain, who ended with figures of 2 for 26 while part-time offspinner Nasir Hossain claimed 2 for 33.

But the toast of the nation through the night will be Rahman's 6 for 43 and Bangladesh's memorable series win - perhaps a World Cup revenge completed.

Team Rankings

Rank Team Points Rating
1 India 5046 120
2 New Zealand 3241 112
3 South Africa 3177 102
4 England 4593 102
5 Australia 3672 102
see more
Rank Team Points Rating
1 England 6745 125
2 India 7071 122
3 New Zealand 4837 112
4 Australia 5543 111
5 South Africa 5193 110
see more
Rank Team Points Rating
1 Pakistan 8366 270
2 Australia 6986 269
3 England 5568 265
4 South Africa 4720 262
5 India 10071 258
see more