CricketNext GET APP

Bangladesh Recall Nasir Hossain For Australia Tests; Mominul Haque, Mahmudullah Dropped

Cricketnext Staff | Updated: August 19, 2017, 4:08 PM IST
Bangladesh Recall Nasir Hossain For Australia Tests; Mominul Haque, Mahmudullah Dropped

Nassir Hossain (C) during practice for Bangladesh. (Getty Images)

New Delhi: The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) have announced their 14-man squad who will feature against Australia in the upcoming two-match Test series, on Saturday.

The selectors have recalled all-rounder Nasir Hossain in the squad, who last played a Test for the Bangla Tigers against South Africa in 2015. The other big news is that star players Mominul Haque and Mahmudullah have been dropped for the series after a string of low-key performances in the longest format of the game.

"It was expected that Mahmudullah would not be in the squad because he did not play the final Test in Sri Lanka," chief selector Minhajul Abedin said in Dhaka while announcing the squad.

"Mominul also missed out the last Test match. In addition, the kind of statistics that we have, they indicate he is not in good form," said Minhajul.

"He scored just one fifty in the last six innings since January. Yet, he is in our plan for the future. (But) at the moment, we are preferring Imrul Kayes and Soumya Sarkar more in his position," he said.

Shafiul Islam also returned to the side after a good show during a recent warm-up match in Chittagong when he picked up five wickets.

Subashis Roy and Rubel Hossain, who were in the Test side during the Sri Lanka series, have also been omitted.

Australia have not played a Test in Bangladesh since Ricky Ponting's team visited in 2006, six years after Bangladesh were granted Test status. They were due to play two Tests in Bangladesh in October 2015 but the tour was cancelled amid security fears after a wave of attacks by Islamist extremists in the Muslim-majority nation.

Australia refused to send their team to last year's Under-19 World Cup in Dhaka over security worries.

The visitors are scheduled to play a warm-up match on August 22-23 before they take on Bangladesh in the first Test at Sher-e Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka on August 27. The second Test will be played at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chittagong from September 4.

The Aussies will leave Bangladesh on September 9 after the end of two-match Test series.

Squad: Mushfiqur Rahim (capt & wk), Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Shakib Al Hasan, Sabbir Rahman, Mustafizur Rahman, Taijul Islam, Mehedi Hasan, Taskin Ahmed, Mosaddek Hossain, Nasir Hossain, Shafiul Islam

((With Agency Inputs))
First Published: August 19, 2017, 3:12 PM IST

Also Watch

Live TV

Team Rankings

1 India 5007 116
2 New Zealand 3570 108
3 South Africa 4397 105
4 Australia 4566 104
5 England 5490 104
FULL Ranking