The incident happened on the final ball of the fourth over when Thomas got Liton Das caught at mid-off. But the replays suggested that the bowler's foot was well within the popping crease.
Windies skipper Carlos Brathwaite protested with the on-field umpires, as the decision cost them a wicket.
The visitors were understandably unhappy and wanted to review the call, but their request was turned down by match referee Jeff Crowe.
To make matters worse, the resulting free-hit was smashed for a six by Soumya Sarkar over cover-point.
The Windies players gathered around the pitch before Brathwaite held lengthy discussions with the fourth umpire Sharfuddowla Ibne Saikat and later the match referee Crowe.
Windies assistant coach Mushtaq Ahmed too joined the discussion and so did Bangladesh skipper Shakib Al Hasan. But Brathwaite and team eventually accepted the decision.
This wasn't the first time an umpiring error had cropped in this series. In the second T20I, both umpires Tanvir and Gazi Sohel had adjudged batsmen LBW even though there were inside edges in both cases.
Windies then had managed to overturn the on-field calls successfully both times after opting for reviews.
First Published: December 22, 2018, 9:02 PM IST