Get the app

DDCA Election on 30th June, Proxy Voting Finally Abolished

PTI |May 15, 2018, 9:53 AM IST
DDCA Election on 30th June, Proxy Voting Finally Abolished

New Delhi: The Delhi & Districts Cricket Association (DDCA)'s election will be held on June 30, without the much-criticised proxy voting system, as per the direction issued by administrator Justice Vikramajit Sen.

The proxy system of voting which has been considered by many as the root cause of corruption in DDCA has been done away with as Justice Sen released an 11-point model of code of conduct for election of members of the executive committee.

Point No 5 of Code of Conduct states: "Proxy voting is not allowed as per Lodha Committee recommendations, accepted by the Hon'ble Supreme Court as well as the Articles of Association of DDCA.

As per proxy system, the members of DDCA were not required to be present at the election booth in order to cast their vote. It was believed that candidates would just gather proxies and win elections at a canter.

During the last DDCA election on December, 2013, Bishan Singh Bedi fighting for president's post lost to the tainted Sneh Bansal within 40 minutes of the start of election.

It was believed that Bansal group submitted a huge number of proxies even before the former India captain could arrive at the venue.

BCCI acting president CK Khanna welcomed the move to abolish proxy system.

"You have to believe me that I am the happiest person today that proxy system has been done away with. Over the years, I have been unfairly targetted by a lot of people. I am not fighting this elections but obviously I will be tracking it with keen interest. A lot of misconceptions will get cleared after June 30," Khanna said.

As per the administrator's instructions, the list of all voting members/voters will be put up on association's website by May 15. From May 21 to 25, the receipt of nominations will be accepted at the DDCA headquarters at Feroz Shah Kotla.

The candidates can withdraw their nomination by May 30 and on June 1, the final list will be published.

From June 4 to 26, the candidates of various groups will be allowed to campaign.

The candidates have also been barred from bringing voter-members in a vehicle at the venue. No election-related banners or pamphlets would be allowed inside the Feroze Shah Kotla premises.

Team Rankings

Rank Team Points Rating
1 India 3631 113
2 New Zealand 2547 111
3 South Africa 2917 108
4 England 3778 105
5 Australia 2640 98
see more
Rank Team Points Rating
1 England 6745 125
2 India 7071 122
3 New Zealand 4837 112
4 Australia 5543 111
5 South Africa 5193 110
see more
Rank Team Points Rating
1 Pakistan 7365 283
2 England 4253 266
3 South Africa 4196 262
4 India 8099 261
5 Australia 5471 261
see more