CricketNext GET APP

Delhi Daredevils Change Name to Delhi Capitals

Cricketnext Staff | Updated: December 4, 2018, 5:33 PM IST
Delhi Daredevils Change Name to Delhi Capitals

IPL franchise Delhi Daredevils have renamed themselves as Delhi Capitals ahead of the 12th edition of the tournament. The announcement was made at an event in the city on Tuesday (December 4).


The franchise also confirmed that Shreyas Iyer be their captain for the next year. Iyer had taken over the role from an out-of-form Gautam Gambhir mid-way during the last season.

The Daredevils have hardly tasted success through the first 11 years of the tournament. They are the only side - among those that have featured in all editions - to have never made the final.

They finished last in 2018, winning just five of their 14 games. In fact, they have qualified for the final four only three times in 11 years, with the last occasion being 2012.

Ahead of the 2019 edition, Delhi have got Shikhar Dhawan from Sunrisers Hyderabad in exchange of Vijay Shankar, Abhishek Sharma and Shahbaz Nadeem. They also released Gautam Gambhir, Mohammed Shami and Glenn Maxwell among others and go into the auction on December 18 in Jaipur with a purse of Rs. 25.50 crore.
First Published: December 4, 2018, 5:30 PM IST

Also Watch

Live TV

Team Rankings

1 India 5007 116
2 South Africa 4280 110
3 New Zealand 3213 107
4 Australia 4566 104
5 England 5490 104
FULL Ranking