Get the app

Deodhar Trophy: Samarth Ton in Vain as India B Beat Karnataka

PTI |March 9, 2018, 1:52 PM IST
Deodhar Trophy: Samarth Ton in Vain as India B Beat Karnataka

Dharamsala: India B lifted the Deodhar Trophy, courtesy a superlative batting effort as they comfortably beat Karnataka by six wickets in the summit clash.

Ravikumar Samarth (107, 120 balls) was once again on the forefront as Karnataka scored a respectable 279 for 8 despite tottering at 64 for 4 at one stage.

In reply, India B romped home in 48.2 overs with as many as four batsmen hitting half-centuries.

Opener Ruturaj Gaikwad (58, 47 balls) and Abhimanyu Easwaran (69 off 82 balls) provided the initial impetus with an 84-run opening stand.

The final floiurish was provided by skipper Shreyas Iyer (61, 69 balls) and veteran Manoj Tiwary (59 off 51 balls). They added 83 runs in only 14.1 overs.

Earlier, it was Samarth, who scored his second hundred with the help of eight fours and a six and added 132 runs with CM Gautham (76 off 84 balls). Gautham hit six fours and two sixes.

The two came together when Karnataka were left reeling at 64 for 4 by Umesh Yadav (2/48) and Khaleel Ahmed (3/49).

They attacked Jayant Yadav (1/71 in 10 overs) mercilessly. The off-spinner, who was a surprise inclusion in the central contracts looked completely out of sorts.

India B paced their chase beautifully as Easwaran dropped anchor at one end while Gaikwad attacked, taking full advantage of the Powerplay overs. He hit seven fours and two sixes.

Easwaran, someone who is rated highly for his impressive technique was ready to play the second fiddle during the opening stand.

Eswaran only started to open up after Gaikwad and Hanuma Vihari (21) were back in the pavilion.

His innings had eight fours and he added 62 with Iyer and was looking good for a hundred before being bowled off a half-tracker from leg-spinner Shreyas Gopal.

Tiwary, who has been in good form, hit eight boundaries and Stuart Binny was taken to task along with Prasidh Krishna as B team coasted home easily.

Brief Scores:

Karnataka 279/8 (Ravikumar Samarth 107 off 120 balls, Ruturaj CM Gautham 76 off 84, Khaleel Ahmed 3/49, Umesh Yadsav 2/48)

India B 281/4 in 48.2 overs (Abhimanyu Easwaran 69 off 82 balls, Ruturaj Gaikwad 58 off 47 balls, Manoj Tiwary 58 no off 51 balls, Shreyas Iyer 61 off 69 balls).

India B won by six wickets.

Team Rankings

Rank Team Points Rating
1 India 3631 113
2 New Zealand 2547 111
3 South Africa 2917 108
4 England 3778 105
5 Australia 2640 98
see more
Rank Team Points Rating
1 England 6745 125
2 India 6939 122
3 New Zealand 4837 112
4 Australia 5543 111
5 South Africa 5193 110
see more
Rank Team Points Rating
1 Pakistan 7365 283
2 England 4253 266
3 South Africa 4196 262
4 India 8099 261
5 Australia 5471 261
see more