Get the app

Deodhar Trophy: Vihari, Spinners Take India B into Deodhar Final With Second Straight Win

Cricketnext Staff |October 24, 2018, 7:08 PM IST
Deodhar Trophy: Vihari, Spinners Take India B into Deodhar Final With Second Straight Win

Hanuma Vihari and the spinners starred once again as India B defeated India C by 30 runs in the second Deodhar Trophy game at the Feroz Shah Kotla in New Delhi on Wednesday (October 24).

Batting first, India B scored 231/9 in 50 overs, with Vihari yet again top-scoring with 76 off 94. India C were bowled out for 201 in 48.2 overs, with K Gowtham and Manoj Tiwary bagging three wickets each.

The target appeared modest but the pitch was slow and produced uneven bounce, making batting difficult. It was on display early when R Samarth received an awkwardly lifting delivery from Deepak Chahar which he gloved to slip for 5.

AJinkya Rahane and Shubman Gill steadied the ship for a while but runs were hard to come by. Rahane battled along and went to 32 off 61 when he punched Gowtham straight to cover. The experienced Suresh Raina walked in next and played an ugly slog, only to miss the ball and hand Gowtham his second wicket.

Gill remained busy and went into the 30s in decent time, but fell in a soft manner when he sliced a low full toss from Tiwary to point. The wicket brought in Vijay Shankar, who took the momentum towards India C. He scored fluently and added 48 with Suryakumar Yadav before he missed a straight ball from part-time leg-spinner Shreyas Iyer to be leg before wicket for 35 off 34.

India C still had some depth with Ishan Kishan and Washington Sundar, but the former struggled to get going. He scored only 5 off 20 before falling to Gowtham, caught behind trying to cut. Suryakumar fell to Tiwary soon, and from 158 for 7, India C couldn't recover.

Earlier, India B were powered by Vihari even as wickets fell at the other end. Left-arm spinner Pappu Roy, pacer Rajneesh Gurbani and Vijay Shankar struck regular blows but Vihari held the innings together, just as he had done on Tuesday against India A.

He hardly received support, as plenty of batsmen wasted their starts on a tough pitch. Apart from Vihari, only Mayank Agarwal (24) and Ankush Bains (25) went past 20 while Iyer and Tiwary fell to Pappu cheaply.

Brief scores: India B 231/9 in 50 overs (Hanuma Vihari 76, Ankush Bains 25; Rajneesh Gurbani  3/38, Pappu Roy 3/45) beat India C 201 in 48.2 overs (Suryakumar Yadav 39, Shubhman Gill 36, Vijay Shankar 35; K Gowtham 3/40, Manoj Tiwary 3/44) by 30 runs.

Related stories

Also Watch

Team Rankings

Rank Team Points Rating
1 India 3631 113
2 New Zealand 2547 111
3 South Africa 2917 108
4 England 3778 105
5 Australia 2640 98
see more
Rank Team Points Rating
1 England 6745 125
2 India 7071 122
3 New Zealand 4837 112
4 Australia 5543 111
5 South Africa 5193 110
see more
Rank Team Points Rating
1 Pakistan 7365 283
2 England 4253 266
3 South Africa 4196 262
4 India 8099 261
5 Australia 5471 261
see more