Home» Cricket Home» News»Elite Div: Nehra, Awana set up Delhi win

Elite Div: Nehra, Awana set up Delhi win

Elite Div: Nehra, Awana set up Delhi win

Delhi's new-ball bowlers Ashish Nehra and Parvinder Awana set the home team up for a ten-wicket win over Baroda.

New Delhi: A stellar performance from Delhi’s new-ball bowlers Ashish Nehra and Parvinder Awana set the home team up for a crushing ten-wicket win - their first of the season - over Baroda at the Feroz Shah Kotla here today. With this victory, Delhi jumped to the top of the Ranji Trophy Elite Group B points table with ten points.

The visitors, trailing by 16 runs with six wickets in hand, resumed the final day on 81 for 4 but failed to stave off a rampant Nehra and Awana. Nehra struck three telling blows from which Baroda never recovered, leaving Awana to mop up the tail and finish with 5 for 52.

Nehra’s first strike of the morning was Baroda’s captain, Pinal Shah, who feathered a catch to man responsible for Delhi’s dominance, the first-innings double-centurion Puneet Bisht. Nehra then followed up by sending back Rakesh Solanki and Ambati Rayudu, as Baroda slumped to 128 for 7. Then it was over to Awana, who removed Irfan Pathan, Abhijit Karambelkar and Bharghav Bhatt to bowl out Baroda for 144. Bhatt’s dismissal gave Awana his fifth wicket and Bisht his fifth catch of the innings.

Set 48 to win, Delhi cruised home inside nine overs with Shikhar Dhawan (28) and Unmukt Chand (17) having no troubles.

Brief score: Delhi 415 and 42/0 in 8.3 overs beat Baroda 318 and 144 in 47.5 overs (Parvinder Awana 5/52, Ashish Nehra 3/61) by 10 wickets

Table-toppers Mumbai surge to innings victory

In Cuttack, Mumbai completed victory by an innings and 210 runs over hosts Orissa, thereby going to the top of the Group A table.

Needing three wickets on the final day, Mumbai had to wait 17.2 overs for the moment of celebration after dismissing the No. 10 Basanth Mohanty (41) two deliveries into the morning session. Santosh Jena’s unbeaten 39 from 48 balls and his partnership with Lagnajit Samal (35) delayed the inevitable, but Ramesh Powar (6 for 57) and Avishkar Salvi soon finished the rout.

Brief score: Mumbai 529/3 declared beat Orissa 93 and 226 all out in 92.2 overs (Ramesh Powar 6/57) by an innings and 210 runs

MP cruise to victory over Gujarat

At Indore, Madhya Pradesh eased to with a five-wicket win over Gurajat. Needing 91 more runs on the final day with six wickets in hand, the hosts lost only S Abbas Ali (40) on the way to victory. Harpreet Singh, resuming on 11, remained not out on 28 while Udit Birla did the bulk of the chasing, hitting an unbeaten 52 from 58 balls.

Brief score: Madhya Pradesh 205 and 198/5 in 70.5 overs (Udit Birla 52 not out, S Abbas Ali 40, Harpreet Singh 28 not out) beat Gujarat 130 and 272 by five wickets

Chopra, Bist centuries earn Rajasthan a draw

Centuries from Aakash Chopra – his first of the season – and in-form batsman Robin Bist denied Uttar Pradesh a chance of an outright win in Jaipur, though the visitors would be content_cn with three first-innings points.

Chopra, resuming on 57, continued to defy UP with a serene innings that included some punchy drives down the ground. Along with fellow opener Vineet Saxena, Chopra held up UP’s push for victory with a 166-run stand. Once Saxena was dismissed for 72, Chopra found an able ally in Bist and the pair put on 106. Bist, Rajasthan’s form batsman this season, began confidently and displayed an array of shots around the wicket. His cutting and driving was the most attractive part of his century, and once he reached the landmark off 149 balls the match was called to a draw. With his effort, Bist took his run tally for the season to 492, second only to Abhishek Nayar’s 505.

Brief score: Uttar Pradesh 492 drew with Rajasthan 274 and 349/2 in 108 overs (Aakash Chopra 135, Robin Bist 100*, Vineet Saxena 72)

All-round Gony shines as Punjab gain three points

In Mohali, hosts Punjab took three points from a draw with Railways. From an overnight 51 for 4, the home team batted their way to 242 for 9 before stand-in captain Uday Gaul declared the innings. Set an improbable target of 336, Railways lost three wickets in the remaining time.

Kaul and Harmeet Singh didn’t last long on the fourth morning, but Mayank Sidhana (49) and Amitoze Singh (68) kept Railways at bay. Manpreet Gony, the No. 10, clubbed an unbeaten 45 from 39 balls before the innings was declared. Railways lost their openers early but the skipper Sanjay Bangar ensured Punjab spend plenty of time chasing the ball, compiling 77 from 85 balls.

The match was a good one for Gony, who added five wickets to take his season tally to 19.

Brief score: Punjab 366 and 242/9 in 82.1 overs (Mayank Sidhana 49, Amitoze Singh 62, Manpreet Gony 45 not out) drew with Railways 273 and 129/3 in 35.3 overs (Sanjay Bangar 77)

Haryana manage three points despite fiery spell by Dinda

In Rohtak, Ashok Dinda's fiery spell - seven for 44 - couldn't prevent Haryana take three points against Bengal at the Bansi Lal Stadium.

Dinda produced a career-best match figures of 12 for 142 - his maiden 10-wicket haul in a first class match.

The 27-year-old bowled with lot of pace as Haryana were shot out for 169 in their second essay leaving Bengal to score 189 runs in 37 overs which included 15 mandatory overs. The visitors finally managed 128 for five in 28 overs before they called off chase.

The target was certainly a difficult one but Rohan Banerjee (43) and Abhishek Jhunjhunwala (23) added 55 runs for the second wicket in quick time giving it a sincere try.

Skipper Sourav Ganguly (21) also tried his bit but was dismissed by Ashish Hooda caught by Priyank Tehlan. Once Ganguly was gone, Bengal never went for the chase. India's reserve wicketkeeper Wrddhiman Saha again failed to get going as he could manage another painstaking 26 off 40 deliveries when the situation demanded a bit more positive approach.

Haryana now have eight points from four matches while Bengal are on five points from three matches and are languishing at the bottom of the group league table.

Brief Scores: Haryana 358 & 169 all out (Nitin Saini 44, Priyank Tehlan 40, Ashok Dinda 7/44).

Bengal 339 & 128/5 (Rohan Banerjee 43, Ashish Hooda 3/40).

At Bangalore: Karnataka 503/7 decl vs Saurashtra 260 all out in 110 overs (Chirag Pathak 95, Shitanshu Kotak 38; Sunil Raju 4/54, Sreenath Aravind 2/81) and 112/4 in 39 overs (Cheteshwar Pujara batting 52, Jaydev Shah 29; Santhebennur Akshay 2/19)