CricketNext GET APP

Harbhajan Singh to Lead North Zone in Syed Mushtaq Ali T20

Press Trust of India | Updated: February 7, 2017, 7:54 PM IST
Harbhajan Singh to Lead North Zone in Syed Mushtaq Ali T20

Harbhajan Singh. (Getty Images)

New Delhi: India discard Harbhajan Singh was today named the captain of the North Zone team for the Syed Mushtaq Ali inter-zonal T20 tournament, to be held in Mumbai from February 12-16.

The 15-member squad comprise of other India players such as Shikhar Dhawan, Yuvraj Singh and Ashish Nehra.

Out-of-favour Gautam Gambhir has also been included in the squad.

The decision was taken at a meeting of North Zone Selection Committee held at Delhi and District Cricket Association (DDCA) under the chairmanship of Nikhil Chopra.

The selectors from North Zone Associations -- Ashender Kaul (JKCA), Rajesh Bawa (HCA), Ashok Thakur (HPCA), Wg. Cdr Deepak Ahluwalia (SSCB), Sarandeep Singh, who was a Special Invitee and Siddharth Sahib Singh, the Convenor -- attended the meeting.

North Zone will take on South Zone in their first match on February 12th at CCI, Mumbai.

The North Zone squad: Harbhajan Singh (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Gautam Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh, Mandeep Singh, Rishabh Pant/Unmukt Chand (wk), AR Pachera, Rishi Dhawan, Mayank Dagar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Parvez Rasool, Umar Nazir, Pradeep Sangwan, Mohit Sharma, Ashish Nehra.

Standbyes: Shivam Chauhan, Shubham Khajuria, Manpreet Gony, Manzoor Dar, Manan Sharma, Milind Kumar.

Support Staff: Badrinath Prathi (Physio), Nishanta Bordoloi (Trainer).

Manager/Coach is yet to be appointed by DDCA.
First Published: February 7, 2017, 7:54 PM IST

Also Watch

Live TV

Team Rankings

1 India 3631 113
2 New Zealand 2547 111
3 South Africa 2917 108
4 England 3663 105
5 Australia 2640 98
FULL Ranking