Home » Cricket Home » News » 'How is This Not a Catch' - Kyle Jamieson's Return 'Catch' in Bangladesh ODI Sparks Discussions
2-MIN READ

'How is This Not a Catch' - Kyle Jamieson's Return 'Catch' in Bangladesh ODI Sparks Discussions

RCB dropped Chris Morris and got Kyle Jamieson for Rs 15 crore. Since then, he has struggled in the T20Is in New Zealand, particularly bowling in the death overs. Will RCB be nervous? Unlikely, for Jamieson provides pace and lower order hitting ability.

RCB dropped Chris Morris and got Kyle Jamieson for Rs 15 crore. Since then, he has struggled in the T20Is in New Zealand, particularly bowling in the death overs. Will RCB be nervous? Unlikely, for Jamieson provides pace and lower order hitting ability.

Was it a clean catch or not? That's what social media is debating referring to Kyle Jamieson's return 'catch' in the second ODI between New Zealand and Bangladesh.

Was it a clean catch or not? That’s what social media is debating referring to Kyle Jamieson’s return ‘catch’ in the second ODI between New Zealand and Bangladesh. The incident happened in the 15th over of Bangladesh’s innings when Tamim Iqbal drove pacer Jamieson down the ground. Jamieson bent and caught the ball, but in the process appeared to have momentarily kept it on the ground while getting back on his feet. Although the soft signal was out, the third umpire ruled in favour of the batsman to leave New Zealand surprised.

Watch here

Law 33.3, which deals with catches, states that the action of a catch will end when “when a fielder obtains complete control over both the ball and his/her own movement.”

Tamim made 78 helping Bangladesh post 271 for 6. New Zealand ended up winning the match.

Soft signals and umpire’s calls have been in focus in recent times, with India captain Virat Kohli questioning both.

“I played for a long time when there was no DRS. Right. If the umpire made a decision, whether the batsman liked it or not, it stayed like that. Vice versa the umpire gave it not out and it was out, it stayed like that, whether it was marginal or not,” said Kohli ahead of the first ODI of a three-match series against England in Pune on Tuesday (March 23).

“According to me, umpire’s call right now is creating a lot of confusion. When you get bowled as a batsman, you don’t expect the ball to hit more than 50 per cent into the stumps to consider yourself bowled.

“So from basic cricket common-sense, I don’t think that there should be any debate on that. If the ball is clipping the stumps, that should be out whether you like it or not, you lose the review.

“That’s how simple the game has to be if it hits the stumps, or it misses the stumps. It doesn’t matter how much it’s hitting, and those kinds of things, because it’s creating a lot of confusion.

“…and you know the one more factor that needs to be considered is that, you know, how the fielding team responds to a dismissal that is claimed is also somewhere, defining soft signals as well,” he said. “You have to question what the spirit of the game is and what those guidelines are, because if, things like that happened with the Indian cricket team overseas, then you are talking about a totally different conversation of spirit of the game…,” he asserted.

Get all the IPL news and Cricket Score here

first published:March 23, 2021, 16:27 IST