"In terms of a no-ball, there is always the issue of the foot and the line being close to each other," Ahmed told Prothom Alo. "And if the bowler jumps quickly, there are occasions when it is difficult to spot it. I am new to international cricket, I made a mistake.
"If you look at my past, I don't have a bad history. It was one mistake. Inshallah, I will come back well. Every person has good days and bad days. Yesterday I had a bad day. The match just ended yesterday. I am not focusing on anything else. I am thinking about my mistake."
This wasn’t Ahmed’s first error in the game as he wrongly called for a no-ball of Oshane Thomas in the same over. In the second T20I, Ahmed had also wrongly given a Windies batsman leg before wicket after he had edged it onto his pads.
The incident in question though took place off the last ball of the fourth over of the Bangladesh innings which opener Liton Das miscued and was caught at mid-off before Ahmed erroneously called it an illegal delivery.
Replays on the big screen though showed that Thomas had not overstepped and the Windies skipper Carlos Brathwaite demanded a review.
However, after a stoppage of almost ten minutes when Brathwaite was in heated discussions with the umpires and match referee Jeff Crowe, it was confirmed that the decision could not be reversed. Bangladesh were allowed the resulting free-hit which Soumya Sarkar smashed for a six.
After the match, Brathwaite had said that he doesn't believe the officials were 'cheating' but made it clear that he was unhappy that the 50-50 decisions weren't going the way of the visitors in the limited overs series.
Ahmed has previously been in the eye of the storm after staging a walkout when he got into an argument with Tamim Iqbal during a Dhaka Premier League game.
Bangladesh cricket teamCarlos BrathwaiteOshane Thomas no-ballTanvir AhmedWest Indies Cricket teamWindies
First Published: December 24, 2018, 8:06 AM IST