Get the app

ICC CEO Dave Richardson Explains How Championship Will Revive Test Cricket

Cricketnext Staff |October 13, 2017, 4:09 PM IST
ICC CEO Dave Richardson Explains How Championship Will Revive Test Cricket

In the years to come bilateral cricket series will have a whole new context and dimension, and the reason behind that is the International Cricket Council's decision to approve a new Test Championship and ODI League.

The decision was taken in the ICC's governing body meet at Auckland. The global cricketing body’s chief executive Dave Richardson spoke to ICC's media channel to further explain what the new Test and ODI structure will look like once the league commences.

“ICC has approved a Test league comprising of top 9 teams in ICC rankings, playing each other over a two year period. Since there won’t be enough time for everyone to play each team, hence each team will play 6 series which will culminate with the top 2 playing in the Test championship final.” Richardson said.

Explaining the ODI League, Richardson added, “The ODI league will see 13 teams, 12 full members and the winner of the World Cricket League championship. It will start in 2020, and initially run for a period of two years leading to the 2023 World Cup. Each team will play 8 series, and top 8 teams will qualify.

ICC CEO added that the organization has been working on such an arrangement for a long time, and this was the third piece after governance changes and alteration to the financial model.

“Playing structure was the remaining piece and ICC has been working on this for a long time. This will give more context to bilateral cricket. This is a very important decision for cricket, and all bilateral series will have more context and value going forward.”

Richardson also explained ICC’s view of 4-day Test cricket, something which has come in for criticism from some quarters. Richardson added that 4-day Test cricket will be on trial basis and will give chance to some of the smaller Test nations to take on the big guns.

“Test championship commences in 2019, and those will be 5 day games..The 4-day trial will run till 2019 and it won’t be compulsory. It is up to the member boards decide among themselves.It has a number of advantages. Hopefully it will renew interest in Test cricket and ensure Test cricket remains sustainable in near future.” Richardson said, signing off.

Related stories

ICC Gives Go Ahead to South Africa-Zimbabwe Four-day Test
Cricketnext Staff | October 13, 2017, 12:46 PM IST

ICC Gives Go Ahead to South Africa-Zimbabwe Four-day Test

Also Watch

Team Rankings

Rank Team Points Rating
1 India 3631 113
2 New Zealand 2547 111
3 South Africa 2917 108
4 England 3778 105
5 Australia 2640 98
see more
Rank Team Points Rating
1 England 6745 125
2 India 7071 122
3 New Zealand 4837 112
4 Australia 5543 111
5 South Africa 5193 110
see more
Rank Team Points Rating
1 Pakistan 7365 283
2 England 4253 266
3 South Africa 4196 262
4 India 8099 261
5 Australia 5471 261
see more