CricketNext GET APP

World T20 is Now T20 World Cup, Confirms ICC

Cricketnext Staff | Updated: November 23, 2018, 7:28 PM IST
World T20 is Now T20 World Cup, Confirms ICC


The ICC World T20 has been renamed to ICC T20 World Cup, the International Cricket Council announced on Friday (November 23).

"The renaming decision is aligned to the Global Cricket Strategy which will be launched in early 2019, in which the shortest format will not only be used as the vehicle to globalise the game, but to also enhance its profile and status and ensure its status is at par with the pinnacle events of the other two formats," read a media release.

This means that the next edition of the events which will be held in Australia 2020 will be called ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020 and the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2020.

Speaking about the change ICC CEO David Richardson said that the pinnacle event of any format should be called the World Cup and that is what brought about the change.

"I think cricket is very fortunate to have three formats and global events, in particular, the cricket World Cup which has been the 50-over version and of course the 20-over version, they have always been regarded as the pinnacle event of that particular format," said Richardson.

"I think the way T20 format is now evolving and is used to globalise the game, it is extremely popular around the world, the status of the event is elevated over the years. I think it is right the fans understand your pinnacle event should be called the World Cup and that is essentially what we have done."

The 20-over format has seen massive fan-following ever since its inception and with the various T20 leagues coming up all over the world its popularity is rising by the minute. The renaming of the event is therefore aimed at cementing the importance the event held in the international cricket calendar.

The decision to rename the event was also backed by international captains, both men and women.

“I’m really excited for the opportunity to be part of the T20 World Cup in Australia. The pinnacle event for T20 cricket is rightly now the World Cup. India won the first edition of the World T20 in 2007 and it would be a great moment to hold the T20 World Cup trophy aloft in Australia," said the Indian men's team captain Virat Kohli.

While the India women's team skipper Harmanpreet Kaur said the change in the name was a "natural progression".

"This is an exciting tournament that teams get to play. It has brought together the best from around the world over the years and so I think the change in name is a natural progression. I’m sure this tournament will only grow in popularity in the coming years with the thrilling brand of the game that has been on display in different editions of the tournament," said Kaur.

Pakistan men’s team captain Sarfaraz Ahmed, whose side is ranked number 1 in the ICC Men’s T20I Team Rankings, said that the amendment will give the marquee event its due a "well-deserved identity".

“By renaming the World T20 as T20 World Cup, the ICC has enhanced the reputation, value and prestige of this extremely difficult and challenging tournament. This event has previously been referred to differently in marketing and digital campaigns, television broadcast, media reports and, as such, there was no clarity on where this event was ranked amongst the other ICC events. I am sure this amendment will give the event its due credit and well-deserved identity."
First Published: November 23, 2018, 6:34 PM IST

Live TV

Team Rankings

1 India 5007 116
2 New Zealand 3570 108
3 South Africa 4397 105
4 Australia 4566 104
5 England 5490 104
FULL Ranking