CricketNext GET APP

India Beat Australia By 8 Wickets In Dharamsala To Reclaim Border-Gavaskar Trophy

Cricketnext Staff | Updated: March 28, 2017, 4:03 PM IST
India Beat Australia By 8 Wickets In Dharamsala To Reclaim Border-Gavaskar Trophy

Image credit: BCCI.


Dharamsala: Team India has clinched the Border-Gavaskar trophy after completing a resounding 8-wicket win over Australia in the fourth and final Test at the picturesque HPCA stadium in Dharamsala.

Needing 87 runs to win on the final day, KL Rahul looked to be in a hurry as he started off with a flurry of boundaries to take India ever more closer to the target. This despite the Australian pace duo of Josh Hazlewood and Pat Cummins bowling a probing line and length which had both Rahul and Murali Vijay in all sorts of trouble.

India vs Australia, 4th Test,Day 4 - As It Happened

Australia finally got a breakthrough when Cummins managed to get a length ball outside the off-stump to hold its line and induced an edge off Vijay's bat. The catch was duly taken by Matthew Wade and Vijay departed for 8, leaving India on 46/1.

The visitors got a double breakthrough in the same over as Cheteshwar Pujara did everything possible to get himself run out for a duck. Pujara dabbed one close to the fielder at point and ran for a single to get off the mark, mid-way on to the crease he stopped and then started again. That was window enough for Glenn Maxwell to break the stumps down with a direct hit and suddenly the hosts were down to 46/2.


Stand-in-captain Ajinkya Rahane came out and calmed the nerves in the dressing room by hitting Pat Cummins for two back to back boundaries. The first one, a copybook straight drive and the other a perfectly timed pull shot.

Rahane continued in his hard hitting fashion, tonking Pat Cummins to back to back sixes to make his intentions clear. KL Rahul hit the winning runs and in the process also brought uphis sixthhalf-century of the series.

Earlier, debutant Kuldeep Yadav's four-wicket burst had helped the hosts restrict the visitors to 300 in the first innings despite Steven Smith (111) scoring his 20th Test century and his third in the series.

The hosts had most of their top order batsmen contributing but Nathan Lyon picked up a crucial five-wicket haul to restrict India to 332 in their first innings. The slender lead of 32-runs taken by India was possible because of Ravindra Jadeja's cavalier knock of 63 down the order.

Australia collapsed in the second innings with Indian pacemen Umesh Yadav and Bhuvneshwar Kumar picking up crucial top order wickets and the spin duo of Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja doing the damage down the order as the tourists were bowled out for 137.

This is Virat Kohli's ninth consecutive series win across all formats, which is a record extending feat for the young captain, having already surpassed his predecessor MS Dhoni's record of seven consecutive series victories.

As far as Test cricket is concerned, this is Kohli's seventh consecutive series win, which puts him just two behind Rickey Ponting's all-time best record of 9 series victories on the trot.

First Published: March 28, 2017, 10:58 AM IST

Also Watch

Live TV

Team Rankings

1 India 4397 116
2 South Africa 3712 106
3 England 4722 105
4 New Zealand 2354 102
5 Australia 3663 102
FULL Ranking